Are Milk Duds 100% Vegan? (2023)

Milk Duds aren’t a super popular candy, but they’re manufactured by one of the world’s largest producers of chocolate (Hershey’s).

Unfortunately, like most Hershey’s products, Milk Duds contain dairy in the form of Non-fat Milk and Whey, as well as confectioners glaze which often is non-vegan as well. So Milk Duds are definitely not vegan. There are some pretty good vegan-alternatives though.

The best Vegan alternatives to Milk duds are probably these caramel chocolate candy bars made by No Whey Foods, but if you don’t mind spending a little more money on something a bit luxurious these chocolate-caramel candy bites are downright fantastic and 100% Vegan.

What ingredients are in Milk Duds?

Milk Duds contain the following ingredients currently: Corn syrup, Sugar, Vegetable oil (includes Palm oil), Dextrose, Nonfat milk, Whey, Chocolate, Brown sugar, Mono and Diglycerides, Baking Soda, Confectioner’s Glaze, Salt, and Dextrin.

Are Milk-Duds Dairy-Free?

No, as mentioned above they contain two dairy-based ingredients in them and thus are not dairy-free or vegan.

Do Milk Duds Contain Gelatin?

While they don’t contain Gelatin they may not even be Vegetarian due to the confectioners glaze in them, which is often derived from Shellac, which is often made from crushing insects.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.