Are Fruit Roll Ups Vegan? (2022)

Table of Contents

Vegan/Vegetarian Fruit Roll Ups

Fruit roll ups are made by the same company that makes Gushers, Betty Crocker, which is owned by General Mills, and while they have quite a few non-vegan products this is not one of them.

All Fruit roll ups are vegan. They don’t contain any animal products, not even non-vegan colorings like Carmine. Their ingredients are relatively simple and straightforward. Fruit roll ups don’t contain Gelatin or anything of the sort in them. They’re just dried fruit strips, or rather dried corn syrup strips with a little fruit juice and colorings. However, the glycerides listed may or may not be animal-derived.

Are Fruit Roll Ups Healthy?

I wouldn’t say that, but they aren’t horrendous like some packaged foods are. They’re basically like sugary candy, which isn’t particularly unhealthy, just not nutritious.

The full list of ingredients for Fruit Roll Ups is: Corn Syrup, Dried Corn Syrup, Sugar, Pear Puree Concentrate, Palm Oil. Contains 2% or less of: Citric Acid, Sodium Citrate, Fruit Pectin, Monoglycerides, Malic Acid, Dextrose, Vitamin C (ascorbic acid), Acetylated Monoglycerides, Natural Flavor, Color (red 40, yellows 5 & 6, blue 1). 

That’s for the above pictured (tropical tie-dye) one, but all fruit roll ups share a similar ingredient list. The only difference is most have less food colorings like red 40 and yellow 5.

Where can you buy Fruit Roll Ups?

Fruit roll ups shouldn’t be hard to find if you live in a western country, especially in North America. They’re sold at essentially every grocery store, and for a premium can be bought at a pharmacy for convenience as most pharmacies carry them as well. You can also buy them online at places like Amazon, and as I’ve found with many products like this, it’s shockingly not any more expensive than in a grocery store. (Click here to check price). Maybe even a little cheaper if you live in a big city or higher cost of living areas like California.

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

Cici's Pizza Logo

Everything Vegan at Cicis Pizza (2021)

Cici’s Pizza isn’t my favorite pizza place, but it’s a place I’ve been many times as my father absolutely loves buffet’s. It’s cheap, you can

Checkers Rallys Restaurant Vegan Menu Options

Everything Vegan at Checkers (2022)

Checkers, also known as Rally’s, has very few vegan options currently, making it impossible to really have a meal at their restaurants as a vegan.

are apple jacks vegan

Are Apple Jacks Vegan? – 2022

Apple Jacks have never been my go-to cereal, but some people can’t get enough of this apple and cinnamon flavored treat. Maybe it is the

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts