Are Fruity Pebbles Vegan? A Classic Cereal Explained (2022)

Table of Contents

are fruity pebbles vegan logo

There are many tasty vegan alternatives and plant-based meals out there, but sometimes you want a classic bowl of cereal. Fruity Pebbles are a commonly known and loved cereal. This brand also makes ​​Cocoa Pebbles, Magic Fruity Pebbles, Marshmallow Fruity Pebbles, and Marshmallow Cocoa Pebbles. But are Fruity Pebbles vegan?

You probably have no trouble imagining this colorful cereal because it is so popular. This rice-based cereal is flavorful and contains tons of fruity crispy pieces. Fruity Pebbles are a classic and have been a favorite in households for years. 

You may have once loved this cereal before switching to a vegan lifestyle, but unfortunately, it needs to stay on the shelf.

Are Fruity Pebbles vegan?

The short answer is no; Fruity Pebbles are not vegan. While they are naturally gluten-free, they are not vegan or cruelty-free. Fruity Pebbles contain a few non-vegan ingredients that can be easy to overlook.

What ingredients are in Fruity Pebbles?

  • Rice
  • Sugar
  • Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil (Coconut and Palm Kernel Oils)
  • Salt
  • Natural and Artificial Flavor
  • Red 40
  • Yellow 6
  • Turmeric Oleoresin (Color)
  • Blue 1
  • Yellow 5
  • Blue 2
  • Bha
  • Sodium Ascorbate (Source of Vitamin C)
  • Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)
  • Niacinamide
  • Reduced Iron
  • Zinc Oxide (Source of Zinc)
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)
  • Thiamin Mononitrate (Vitamin B1)
  • Folic Acid
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin D

While this cereal does not contain dairy products, it is still not vegan. Fruity Pebbles contain some non-vegan ingredients that are often assumed to be safe but are not. 

Which Fruity Pebble ingredients are non-vegan?

  • Artificial Colors
  • Natural Flavors
  • Palm Kernel Oil
  • Sugar
  • Vitamin D

Why are the artificial colors found in Fruity Pebbles not vegan?

It is difficult to say whether or not the artificial colors in Fruity Pebbles are vegan or not.

Many artificial colors are non-vegan because they either contain animal-based ingredients or are tested on animals. Many of these harmful colors are used in Fruity Pebbles to create the variety of colors seen in this rice cereal. This cereal contains Blue 1, Blue 2, Red 40, Yellow 5, and Yellow 6. 

Even if these colors do not contain animal-based ingredients, they still go against vegan beliefs. These colors are tested on animals, and vegans do not support animal cruelty. The production of these colors is responsible for a lot of harm.

Why are the natural flavors found in Fruity Pebbles not vegan?

Natural flavors can be confusing to understand. This term can be used to refer to many ingredients. According to the FDA, natural flavors can come from spice, fruit, fruit juice, vegetables, vegetable juice, edible yeast, herbs, bark, bud, root, leaf, and other plant materials. However, they can also come from meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy, or fermentation products. 

Natural flavors can come from plants, or they can come from animals which makes it difficult to know if certain products are vegan. These flavors can be vegan or non-vegan; it just depends. It is easiest to skip products that include natural flavors on their ingredients list if they do not clearly state they are vegan.

Why is the palm kernel oil found in Fruity Pebbles not vegan?

The reason palm kernel oil is not considered vegan is because of the process used to make it. It may not come from an animal source, but that does not make it harmless. Sustainable palm oil is considered vegan, but palm oil produced in other ways is not. The production of palm oil is responsible for destroying the habitats of many animals.

Why is the sugar found in Fruity Pebbles not vegan?

Sugar seems simple enough, but oftentimes it is not vegan-friendly. In many cases, sugar is refined through a process that uses bone char from animals. Unfortunately, this process still exists in today’s world when plenty of vegan-friendly sugars can be made. 

Why is the vitamin D found in Fruity Pebbles not vegan?

The vitamin D found in many popular cereal brands and other products such as supplements is not vegan-friendly. This vitamin D is made from lanolin that comes from sheep’s wool. Vitamin D is not always safe for vegans, and that is the case with this cereal. 

Can vegans eat Fruity Pebbles?

Fruity Pebbles are not vegan, so vegans should opt for other options when they can.

While Fruity Pebbles may not be considered vegan, some vegans ignore this or do not realize it. They may not see the use of wool as being as much of an issue as dairy and meat ingredients. They may also believe that the damage caused by palm oil is not a good enough reason to skip out on products that contain it. 

It can be challenging to figure out if something is vegan when it contains sugar, artificial colors, and natural flavors. These ingredients are often non-vegan, but other times they are just fine. That is one reason why vegans sometimes still consume things like Fruity Pebbles.

Whether or not you choose to eat Fruity Pebbles depends on your personal beliefs and if you are a strict vegan or not. We are not here to judge, but to provide you with all of the information you need to make an informed decision for yourself. 

Frequently Asked Questions

Fruity Pebbles are not vegan, so vegans should opt for other options when they can. Just to mention a few non-vegan ingredients: palm kernel oil, refined sugar and vitamin D.

Unfortunately, Marshmallow Fruity Pebbles aren’t vegan either. On the ingredients list you can find vitamin D, refined sugar and palm kernel oil. 

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

e500 vegan bag

What is E500 and Is It Vegan? (2022)

E500 is a food additive that’s used as a raising agent & anti-caking agent in various bread products, generally it’s sourced from one of two

Atlanta Bread Vegan Options Logo

Everything Vegan at Atlanta Bread (2022)

Atlanta Bread has plenty of vegan-friendly options, as most bread places do — although their options are still relatively limited as their menu is generally

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts