Are Gobstoppers Vegan? (2023)

Gobstoppers hold a bunch of memories for me, the most vivid is one boy I used to know in middle school who would pop them like any other candy and crunch them without any hesitation the moment they entered his mouth. One day someone gave him a “real” gobstopper from a candy shop and he crunched his teeth. Oof!

Due to Gobstoppers non-sticky and long-lasting slightly sweet flavor, they’re one of the healthier (relative) candies you can have since they “go” a lot further. I like them.

Gobstoppers are vegan, despite their varying colors they don’t use any non-vegan coloring agents like carmine, nor do they contain gelatin or anything else non-vegan. But note that Gobstoppers are also produced in the same manufacturing setting as the Chewy Gobstoppers (see below) and have a disclaimer at the end of their ingredients list that says May Contain: Egg.

The Full Ingredient List of Everlasting Gobstoppers are: Dextrose, Maltodextrin, and Less than 2% of corn syrup, malic acid, calcium stearate, carnauba wax, artificial flavors, color added, blue 1, blue 2 lake, red 40 lake, yellow 5, yellow 5 lake, and yellow 6.

What about Chewy Gobstoppers?

Chewy Gobstoppers aren’t vegan, unfortunately, they contain Egg Albumen which is just a sneaky way of saying egg-whites. Similarly to how sweet tarts are vegan the chewy version of them aren’t either, as they coat the outside with egg whites to give it a hard coating that prevents them from becoming stale.

The full ingredients of Chewy Gobstoppers are: Dextrose, Corn Syrup, and Less than 2% of Maltodextrin, Hydrogenated Coconut Oil, Malic Acid, Calcium Stearate, Egg Albumen, Mono- and Diglycerides, Carnauba Wax, Natural Flavors, Color Added, Blue 1, Blue 2 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Yellow 5, Yellow 5 Lake, Yellow 6, Sunflower Lecithin, Mineral Oil.

What about off-brand jawbreakers/gobstoppers?

The type you may find at an old time candy shop may or may not be vegan. Sometimes they use Confectioners glaze which contains shellac, which isn’t vegan. They use it to make it shiny and polish the jawbreakers/gobstoppers after production, so if they’re not shiny and polished they likely did not use any, although it’d be hard to be sure one way or another as generally there are no ingredients listed on the packages they come in so even the shop owner may not know.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.