Are Gushers Vegan? (2023)

Table of Contents

Fruit Gushers Are They Vegan?

Gushers were always that one item that made you the lad everyone wanted to be friends with, even if just for lunchtime.  I must say I was one of those folks who brought multiple packs just to hand out because my mom was over-generous about giving them to me.

But never would I have thought they were vegan. I swear I remember they had gelatin in them or something. But no!
Gushers don’t contain any gelatin or any other animal products for that matter.

This genuinely shocked me as they just seem like something that would have Gelatin in them, but instead they opted for Carrageenan. While some folks complain about carrageenan I don’t mind it at all as I can’t complain when it’s in something as that usually means it’s replacing non-vegan Gelatin. Since Carrageenan is vegan and they chose to use it instead Fruit Gushers are vegan!

What Ingredients is Gushers made of?

The full list of ingredients for Fruit Gushers is: Corn Syrup, Sugar, Pear Puree Concentrate, Fructose, Modified Corn Starch, Maltodextrin, Palm Oil, Glycerin, and less than 2% of Cottonseed oil, Carrageenan, Citric Acid, Monoglycerides, Sodium Citrate, Malic Acid, Ascorbic Acid, Natural Flavor, Potassium Citrate, Agar-Agar, Xanthan Gum, Red 40, Blue 1, Yellow 5, and Yellow 6

There has been history of certain food coloring categories that have tested on animals but there has not been any published testing within the past couple years.

Are Gushers Vegan Around The World?

Fruit Gushers are made by General Mills, and internationally sometimes they’re labeled as made by Betty Crocker, but that’s just one of the brands of General Mills, so don’t worry if they’re labeled differently.

Internationally, be it in Canada or the UK, and I’d assume elsewhere, gushers are always vegan and always have the same ingredients in them. At least that’s been my experience when I checked when traveling, and of course online.

Where can you buy Gushers?

In the states they’re sold at essentially every grocery store, including discount stores such as Family Dollar. Sometimes they’re sold in places such as CVS/Walgreens, but not always. You can also order them off Amazon and at least compared to the places I’ve seen them in person for cheaper than in person. You can check the price here. Seems strange, but they’re sold by gushers their self so they’re definitely the same thing as in-store.

As for internationally, you can also buy them off Amazon of course, but in person you can find them at Walmart almost always. Other places are a hit or miss outside of Canada at least, as in Canada most major grocery stores will have them as well, much like in the USA. In other countries such as the UK they’re somewhat hard to find, particularly because there’s less Walmart’s there.

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

are oreos vegan

Are Oreos Vegan? – 2023

The ‘twist or dunk’ debate has been around for years, but so has the ‘vegan or non-vegan’ debate when it comes to Oreo cookies. No

Lactic Acid Structure

What Is E270 and Is It Vegan? (2023)

E270 is a food additive meant to preserve foods and prevent oxidation. While it’s generally sourced from Corn and other starches it technically can be

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts