Are KFC fries vegan? – 2023

Secret Recipe Fries can be ordered as a homestyle side dish for individuals and families at KFC. The Secret Recipe Fries at KFC are basically vegan, consisting only of potatoes and salt. However, the frying method may discourage some vegan consumers, as the fries are fried in the same oil as non-vegan products, which raises the problem of cross-contamination.

Are KFC fries vegan? Keep reading to find out.

Are KFC fries vegan?

The short answer is yes. KFC does not fry their potatoes in beef fat as other fast-food chains often do. However, if you are concerned about cross-contamination, it might be best to avoid eating at KFC altogether.

While KFC is conscious enough to use a vegan-friendly oil, they are still a chicken restaurant. The same fryers that cook their chicken and other non-vegan menu items tend to be used to make the fries as well. Some vegans may not feel comfortable eating something cooked using the same oil as foods that are not vegan-friendly.

KFC fries aren’t suitable for those who want to avoid cross-contamination.

What makes some fries not safe for vegans?

It is easy to assume that all french fries are vegan-friendly. Fries are just fried potatoes, right? Yes and no. In some cases, restaurants use an oil that is unsuitable for plant-based eaters. For example, some fast-food restaurants like McDonald’s add beef fat to their oil.

In most cases, french fries are cooked in canola oil, vegetable oil, sunflower oil, corn oil, palm oil, or another plant-based oil, making them safe for vegans. It is common for these safe oils to be a part of fast food cooking, but this is not always the case.

Typically you can find out what oil a restaurant uses by looking at their ingredients lists. KFC helps customers with food allergies and sensitivities feel safe by clearly stating this information on their website. Even if a restaurant uses safe oil, it is not always considered vegan by all plant-based eaters.

With most french fries available at fast-food restaurants, there is a potential risk of cross-contamination. Fries do not tend to be cooked using a separate fryer. Whether or not this makes an item not vegan-friendly is an ongoing debate. You should order in a way that makes you feel comfortable.

are kfc fries vegan

What KFC dipping sauces and condiments are safe for vegans?

What are french fries without a tasty dipping sauce? Now that you know more about KFC fries, you probably also want to know what sauces are safe for vegans. Unfortunately, many sauce options at KFC aren’t suitable for vegan eaters.

Vegan-friendly KFC sauces include:

  • Mazetti Light Italian Dressing
  • Grape Jelly
  • Strawberry Jam
  • Ketchup
  • Lemon Juice Packet
  • Summertime BBQ Sauce
  • Sweet N Tangy Sauce

While you are likely not eager to dip your fries in grape jelly or strawberry jam, you can find vegan sauces on the menu. Enjoy ketchup, Summertime Barbecue sauce, or Sweet N’ Tangy sauce. Some locations also offer a vegan-friendly hot sauce. If you like your fries on the spicy side, feel free to ask if your location carries it.

KFC french fries are approved by most plant-based eaters and make a great addition to your vegan meal.

KFC has a decent selection for those sticking to a vegan diet. The vegan sides don’t stop with fries. Vegans can also order BBQ baked beans, green beans, and more. Between the secret recipe fries and the vegan chicken they occasionally offer, it is possible to enjoy a delicious vegan meal at KFC.

Frequently Asked Questions

The short answer is yes. KFC does not fry their potatoes in beef fat as other fast-food chains often do. However, cross-contamination could be a problem.

The short answer is yes. KFC does not fry their potatoes in beef fat as other fast-food chains often do. However, cross-contamination could be a problem.

KFC secret recipe fries are vegan, because KFC does not fry their potatoes in beef fat. However, cross-contamination could be a problem. 

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.