Are Peeps Vegan? (2023)

Table of Contents

Peeps Original Non-vegan Marshmallow Chicks

Peeps are arguably one of the most unhealthy calorie-dense nutrition-lacking things you can eat. But I have many fond memories of going into drugstores with my mother and buying them, as she always loved them. They were a little too sugary for my tastes, but not for hers!

Unfortunately Peeps aren’t vegan though, so while I quit sharing them years prior to going vegan my mother had not, but had to shortly kick them to the curb after going vegan herself. Peeps, like most marshmallows, contain Gelatin, which is what makes them non-vegan. They may also use bone-char refined sugar, however the main concern here would be the gelatin as that’s a for-sure issue that’s listed in the ingredients of all peeps. Peeps (rarely) but occasionally also contain egg-derived ingredients as well.

The full ingredient list for Peeps is: Sugar, Corn Syrup, Gelatin, and contains less than 0.5% of Natural and Artificial Flavors, Potassium Sorbate, Red #3, and Carnauba.

Is there a vegan version of Peeps?

There isn’t a commercially produced vegan version of peeps that are available online or outside a local shop or two, so I’d say no, not yet at least. You can make your own, although they may be a little scuffed, by making marshmallows yourself or buying some from Trader Joes or Wholefoods that do not contain Gelatin and warming them before dipping them in colored sugar (use food coloring).

vegan marshmellow

I prefer Trader Joe’s brand marshmallows over the Dandies brand as Trader Joe’s seem identical to “real” marshmallows while Dandies, at least last time I had them, were a little drier and didn’t melt as well. If you don’t live by or shop at Whole foods or Trader Joe’s you can find them on Amazon, however they do cost around double what in store prices likely are unless you live in California or somewhere high-cost. You can find the Trader Joe’s ones on Amazon (click here) and the Dandies ones on Amazon by clicking here.

Trader Joe’s marshmallows aren’t always in-stock in stores though, as they’re mostly a holiday item still. Hopefully they start carrying them year-round soon! If you are looking for some vegan sweets, you might also like Candy Canes.

Frequently Asked Questions

Unfortunately, Marshmallow Peeps contain Gelatin, thus they are far from being vegan.

If you are looking for a vegan alternative, Trader Joe’s Marshmallows are pretty good.

Nope. The problem with Peeps is that all of their marshmalows contain pork-derived gelatin, making them non-vegan.

Unfortunately, Peeps Jelly beans contain confectioner’s glaze, which makes them non-vegan.

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

Huddle House Vegan Options Logo

Everything Vegan at Huddle House (2023)

Huddle House used to be horrible for vegans, and still isn’t fantastic, however vegans have a few options such as hashbrowns and a veggie-burger among

Smarties Vegan Candy Rockets

Are Smarties Vegan? (2023)

Smarties are a simple sugary candy that I definitely like, probably mostly because they’re a candy that is so easily portioned and one I don’t

Vegan/Vegetarian Fruit Roll Ups

Are Fruit Roll Ups Vegan? (2023)

Fruit roll ups are made by the same company that makes Gushers, Betty Crocker, which is owned by General Mills, and while they have quite

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts