Is dark chocolate vegan? Dove, Green & Black, and more – 2022

Table of Contents

Is dark chocolate vegan

Everyone is a chocolate lover to some extent. Vegans know to avoid milk chocolate and similar products such as Nutella – as you can tell from the name, it contains dairy unless made with plant milk and stated so. And the same applies to white chocolate. But what about dark chocolate?

Dark chocolate has a higher cacao content, leaving less room for animal-based ingredients. But that does not mean that every dark chocolate you see on the grocery store’s shelf is suitable for vegan folks. However, finding entirely plant-based dark chocolate is easy – there are loads out there! Let’s talk about some well-known brands, what to keep in mind and what to look out for next time you’re on a hunt for a chocolate bar.

Is dark chocolate vegan?

Dark chocolate is a type of chocolate with a high content of cocoa mass and an intense, slightly bitter taste. The base ingredients are cocoa solids, cocoa butter, an emulsifier such as soy lecithin, and a sweetener. Dairy-based products, such as milk or butter, are not needed for dark chocolate. However, that does not mean that they aren’t often used. So, how to figure out whether a dark chocolate bar is vegan-friendly or not?

How to find vegan dark chocolate?

Fortunately, finding a dark chocolate bar suitable for a vegan diet isn’t too hard. But there is a great tip to keep in mind to make the process as fast and stress-free as possible.

The more cocoa a chocolate bar has, the less room is left for non-vegan components. So a good rule of thumb is – that the higher the percentage of chocolate, the bigger the chance of it being vegan. 

Other than that, there isn’t really any other way to tell whether a bar of chocolate is vegan or not than by checking the ingredient list.

Is Green & Black chocolate vegan?

If you appreciate high-quality dark chocolate and organic produce – you will appreciate Green & Black. Luckily for us, the British chocolate company has a few dark chocolate bars free from any ingredients derived from animals.

  • 70% Dark Chocolate Bar – Organic chocolate liquor, organic cane sugar, organic cocoa butter, and organic vanilla extract.
  • 85% Dark Chocolate Bar – Organic chocolate liquor, organic cane sugar, organic cocoa butter, and organic vanilla extract.
  • 60% Dark Chocolate Ginger Bar – Organic chocolate, organic raw cane sugar, organic cocoa butter, soy lecithin (emulsifier), organic vanilla extract), organic crystallized ginger pieces (organic ginger, organic cane sugar).

Since both of these chocolate bars are made with organic cane sugar, they are suitable for every vegan, no matter how strict. Although, they are made in the same production line as their non-vegan products. But the possible cross-contamination is nothing new for vegans.

Is Lindt dark chocolate vegan?

is dark chocolate vegan

In 2020, Lindt came out with new chocolate bars called ¨Hello¨, which were specifically labeled vegan. They were only launched in Germany and are now available in the U.K and Canada too. Americans are not that lucky – these chocolate bars are still not on the market here. We can hope that they will be available in the USA one day, too – but until then, there are a couple of Lindt dark chocolate bars that every vegan in the USA can munch on.

The three chocolate bars are 100% vegan and free from controversial ingredients. Lindt has a few other products that are dairy-free and that most vegans are okay with. However, the following chocolate bars contain sugar, which some vegans prefer to avoid.

  • 99% Cocoa Dark Chocolate Excellence Bar
  • 90% Cocoa Dark Chocolate Excellence Bar
  • 70% Cocoa Dark Chocolate Excellence Bar
  • 70% Cocoa Madagascar Dark Chocolate Excellence Bar
  • 75% Cocoa Ecuador Dark Chocolate Excellence Bar

Is Ghirardelli dark chocolate vegan?

Ghirardelli has a wide variety of dark chocolates – from different percentages to different flavors. Most of them contain milk fat and aren’t suitable for a vegan diet. However, there are a few plant-based ones!

The first two contain cane sugar. As we have mentioned, it’s a ¨gray area¨ for vegans – whether you feel comfortable with it is for you to decide.

Is Dove dark chocolate vegan?

If you loved Dove chocolate before your vegan times and wonder if you can still eat it – the answer is sadly no. Not even their dark chocolate is suitable for vegan folks. What makes it non-vegan? The chocolate contains dairy – milk fat, to be exact. Sugar is also found in the ingredient list – another questionable ingredient for vegans.

Frequently Asked Questions

While many dark chocolates are vegan, it is not uncommon to find non-vegan ingredients such as dairy in dark chocolates.

Most Ghirardelli dark chocolates contain milk fat, so they aren’t suitable for vegans. However, the 72% and 100% dark chocolate bars are vegan-friendly!

Most Lindt dark chocolate bars are suitable for vegans as long as the possible use of bone char in the sugar refining process is not an issue for you.

Hershey’s dark chocolate contains dairy. Therefore it is not vegan-friendly.

Not all dark chocolate is vegan. It is easy to find vegan-friendly dark chocolate but always check the label.

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

Carotene e160a Primary Source Carrots

What is E160a and Is It Vegan? (2022)

E160A is an artificial food additive that’s derived from multiple organic sources, generally ones that are orange or yellow. In some cases it can can

panera vegan options

Panera Bread vegan options – 2022

It isn’t uncommon to find vegan-friendly loaves of bread at bakeries. However, not every bakery-cafe style of place has more than that to offer vegans.

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts