Is Ketchup Vegan? Heinz, Hunts, and More. (2022)

Table of Contents

is ketchup vegan logo

If you have recently switched to a vegan lifestyle, you have likely come up with questions about your favorite foods, sauces, and more. It can be challenging to keep up with what is and is not vegan-friendly. The same goes for condiments.

When it comes to dressing up vegan burgers, vegan hot dogs, fries, and other tasty treats, one of the best ways to do so is with a flavorful sauce. Considering ketchup is one of the most popular condiments around, you may be asking, is ketchup vegan? In most cases, ketchup is safe for vegans, but there are times when this is not true.

Every ketchup recipe incorporates a sweetener of some kind. Sometimes ketchup is sweetened with high fructose corn syrup, brown sugar, white sugar, cane sugar, or refined sugar. In some cases, the sweetener a ketchup brand selects is non-vegan and uses animal bone char.

In addition to sweetener, ketchup usually contains:

  • Tomatoes
  • Vinegar
  • A blend of spices (including garlic powder, onion powder, and salt)

This list can vary a little between brands, but these are the most common ingredients, and they tend to be vegan. It is possible to enjoy ketchup while following a plant-based diet, but it can be tricky. A strict vegan should always research ketchup brands before adding this condiment to their meals.

Is Heinz ketchup vegan?

Heinz ketchup is vegan. Heinz Tomato Ketchup, Heinz Organic Tomato Ketchup, and Heinz Simply Tomato Ketchup are all safe. Most varieties of Heinz ketchup are vegan, including flavors like Jalapeno Chili, Sweet Chili, and Fiery Chili.

Heinz confirmed that their ketchup is suitable for vegans in this statement. Heinz clarified that the sugar used in their ketchup is not processed with bone char from animal bones. Anyone following a vegan diet can feel free to enjoy Heinz ketchup.

While all varieties of Heinz ketchup are tasty, they offer an option that is healthier than most. The Simply Heinz version is best for plant-based eaters who avoid ingredients like high-fructose corn syrup. This ketchup uses tomatoes, vinegar, sugar, salt, and spices while skipping the GMO ingredients and high-fructose corn syrup.

Is Hunt’s Ketchup vegan?

Hunt’s Classic Tomato Ketchup is vegan. This ketchup is sweetened using high fructose corn syrup. It is difficult to say if Hunt’s 100% Natural Tomato Ketchup is vegan. This ketchup is non-organic and sweetened with cane sugar, which might be filtered through bone char.

Is Annie’s Organic Ketchup vegan?

This brand is known for creating delicious foods and condiments that are healthy. The same goes for Annie’s Organic Ketchup which is vegan. This ketchup is certified organic. They skip the artificial sugar and instead sweeten their ketchup with pure cane sugar. The ingredients in this ketchup are non-GMO, and it does not contain high fructose corn syrup.

Is Primal Kitchen Ketchup vegan?

This ketchup is great for anyone who enjoys tomato condiments that are a little less sweet. Primal Kitchen’s Organic Unsweetened Ketchup is entirely vegan. This ketchup uses organic tomato concentrate, organic balsamic, organic onion powder, organic garlic powder, organic spices, and less than 2% salt.

Other vegan-friendly ketchup brands include:

is ketchup vegan
  • 365 Everyday Value Organic Tomato Ketchup
  • Fody Foods Vegan Tomato Ketchup
  • Sir Kensington’s Ketchup
  • Tessemae’s Organic Ketchup
  • True Made Foods Ketchup
  • Veg’d Organics Vegan All-Natural Ketchup
  • Westbrae Natural Organic Unsweetened Ketchup

If your favorite ketchup did not make this list, it may still be vegan.

You might be curious about a brand that is not listed here. There are a few ways to tell if ketchup is vegan.

Check the label and make sure all of the ingredients are plant-based.

Reading the ingredients is a simple way to check if something is vegan or not. The ketchup in question may contain non-vegan ingredients, making it easy to eliminate. Check for any ingredients like honey.

Pay attention to the kind of sweetener used in the ketchup. Keep in mind that while high fructose corn syrup might not be the most healthy sweetener out there, it is vegan. It gets a little trickier when it comes to sugar because some are safe while others are not.

If the ketchup contains sugar, make sure it is certified organic.

It can be challenging to know if the sugar used in a product is safe for vegans or if the sugar contains an animal product. That is why it is best to stick with organic sugar. When sugar is certified organic by the United States Department of Agriculture, it can not be filtered through bone char.

So, is ketchup vegan?

Some kinds of ketchup contain ingredients that are not vegan, but many are suitable for vegans. The ketchup you choose to consume may depend on whether or not you are a strict vegan. 

You do not necessarily need to avoid bottles of ketchup that do not state they are organic or 100% natural tomato ketchup. Not all organic ketchup brands contain vegan-friendly sugar. In most cases, these ketchup options are suitable for vegans, but other times they are falsely assumed to be safe.

If you still do not feel confident that your favorite ketchup is vegan, you can always make your own. There are many simple vegan ketchup recipes online. In most cases, you will need tomato paste, spices, apple cider vinegar, and your choice of vegan sweetener such as maple syrup.

Frequently Asked Questions

In most cases, ketchup is safe for vegans, but there are times when this is not true. In some cases, the sweetener a ketchup brand selects is non-vegan and uses animal bone char. 

Nope. In some cases, the sweetener a ketchup brand selects is non-vegan and uses animal bone char. Check the label and make sure all of the ingredients are plant-based.

Heinz Tomato Ketchup, Heinz Organic Tomato Ketchup, and Heinz Simply Tomato Ketchup are all safe. Most varieties of Heinz ketchup are vegan, including flavors like Jalapeno Chili, Sweet Chili, and Fiery Chili.

Hunt’s Classic Tomato Ketchup is vegan. This ketchup is sweetened using high fructose corn syrup.

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts