What Flavors of Maruchan Ramen are Vegan? (2023)

Most brands of Ramen are not vegan as usually the packets contain fish by-products or dried animal-stock, and unfortunately that’s the case for maruchan ramen as well.

All Maruchan Ramen flavors are non-vegan, including the pictured “Oriental” flavor. There’s many other vegan ramen brands, including some flavors from Maruchan’s main competitor (Top Ramen). I’ll briefly go over those below.

Before that, I’d like to say the noodles in Maruchan Ramen are technically Vegan and aren’t any different than any other Ramen noodles. Don’t go buying them to take their noodles, but if you have some already or you know a freak who doesn’t use the noodles, by all means take them and season them yourself!

What are the best vegan alternatives?

The best? Hands down Nongshim’s SOON veggie ramen noodle soup, which is certified vegan and super tasty in my opinion.

The most convenient and available?  Nissin’s “Top Ramen” and “Cup Noodles” which is Maruchan’s #1 competitor would win in this respect, as both their oriental, chili, and very veggie flavors are vegan and they’re available dang-near everywhere, as well as online.

The healthiest? I’d say it’s definitely Dr McDougal’s Vegan “Chicken” Ramen, although personally I don’t buy them as they’re significantly more expensive, albeit not outrageous in price when compared to Nongshim’s.

Frequently Asked Questions

All Maruchan Ramen flavors are non-vegan, because their seasoning contains animal products.

Technically, yes. The noodles in Maruchan Ramen are vegan, because they do not contain any animal products. However, if you are a true vegan, you should definitely NOT BUY Maruchan Ramen for their noodles. They are not a Cruelty-free Company and their product is definitely not helping the vegan cause. 

Unfortunately, it is far from vegan. The seasoning contains chicken fat, powdered cooked chicken and chicken broth. The noodles themselves are vegan, but you should not buy them if you are a true vegan. 

Unfortunately, it contains beef extract and beef fat, so it is not vegan.

Unfortunately the seasoning of the Maruchan Oriental Ramen contains Beef Extract, thus it is far from being vegan.

Just like all the other versions, the Soy Sauce seasoning is also non-vegan. It contains Beef Extract.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.