Is sorbet vegan? – 2022

Table of Contents

is sorbet vegan

With the arrival of the summer, sorbet can be a real life-saver for those unbearably hot days! Not even gelato beats the delicious freshness of this flavorful dessert – and maybe you are also ready to try something else than Dippin’ Dots vegan options. Sorbet is a great way to rehydrate and, if done in the right way,  add some healthy vitamins and minerals to your diet thanks to its fruit.

But let’s address the elephant in the room! Can vegans enjoy this deliciousness? 

Is sorbet vegan?

Sorbet is a frozen dessert mainly consisting of sweetened water and fresh fruit juices. So, yes, to put it simply, sorbet is generally vegan! But, it’s always important to pay attention to all the ingredients as some brands may use animal by-products.

Is all sorbet vegan?

Nope, not all sorbets are vegan. In fact, some brands use products such as honey and alcohol to add taste to their sorbets. You may now be surprised. Of course, honey is not vegan but what about alcohol?

Unfortunately, both red and white wine are frequently produced with animal by-products. These are used in a procedure called fining that removes unwanted substances from the wine. Some of the most popular are white eggs, casein, and gelatin. 

Other ingredients to pay attention to...

Apart from honey and wine, there are other ingredients you should always watch out for. For instance, colors and additives. To give you an example, bright red sorbet may contain carmine, a substance made by grinding together cochineal beetles. 

Just like any other prepacked food, if the factory producing the sorbet is selling non-vegan products you should also pay attention to cross-contamination. This means that, especially if you’re allergic, you may want to only choose brands specialized in the production of vegan products to minimize this risk. 

Last but not least, we should talk about sugar. This is obviously vegan but some manufacturers still use bone char to refine it. 

Checking all of this information can be quite difficult. If your chosen brand doesn’t specify on the package whether their sorbet is suitable for vegans you can try to call the manufacturer to ask for extra information to enjoy your dessert without worrying. 

Vegan Sorbet brands for you

is sorbet vegan

If you don’t want to spend your time checking the labels, here are some 100 percent vegan-friendly options. 

First on our list is Ciao Bella Sorbettos (the Italian word for sorbet). Ciao Bella is a US-based brand that specializes in frozen desserts using only vegan ingredients. Even though their gelatos may be more popular, their sorbets are equally delicious. They have a unique range of flavors ranging from pear and peppercorn and red berries and prosecco. But don’t worry, they also have more traditional sorbets such as chocolate and coconut, blood orange, and blueberry passion fruit. 

Sorbabes Sorbet is another popular alternative. They have a variety of flavors to choose from, and all their sorbets are 100 percent certified vegan. 

Another great brand is Talenti Dairy-Free Sorbet. If you choose this, you need to be careful as only two of their sorbets are one hundred percent vegan: Alphonso mango and Roman raspberry. 

Although not all of their products are vegegan, but you should definitely check out Sweet Frog’s vegan sorbets as well. 

Make your own sorbet!

If you can’t find any vegan sorbet in your store you can easily make this frozen dessert from the comfort of your home without having to buy an ice cream maker machine. All you will need is a good food mixer!

Choose the fruit of your choice and leave it in the freezer overnight. Once it is completely frozen, you can put it in your blender till it reaches the perfect texture. It may sound too easy, but it works like a charm!

Obviously, to make a traditional sorbet, you need to add sweetened water. However, from our experience, fruits tend to be already quite sweet, so we suggest you first try without and then decide whether to add more. 

Get creative and try all sorts of flavors. Our favorites are banana and strawberry, mango and lime, and the unusual but delicious basil and peach! 

You can also try the Fruity Ice Pops recipe by the Vegan Recipe Club. They are just as refreshing as delicious.

Frequently Asked Questions

According to Ben and Jerry’s official website, all their non-dairy flavors are one hundred percent vegan! Nonetheless, you should keep in mind that this brand also produces ice cream made with milk, so there is a risk of cross-contamination.

According to the Haagen Dazs website, their non-dairy products are completely vegan. Some of the flavors available include Chocolate Salted Fudge Truffle, Coconut Caramel, and Mocha Chocolate Cookie. However, also in this case the chance of cross-contamination is not irrelevant. They also list sugar among their ingredients which may or may not have been processed with bone char. If you want to be one hundred percent sure, try to contact the producers. 

This depends on the brand. For instance, Ciao Bella produces an amazing vegan mango sorbet. For other brands, always check the ingredients and call the manufacturer when in doubt.

According to the ingredients, Haagen Dazs mango sorbet should be vegan. However, it also contains sugar which may have been processed with bone char.

This depends on the brand. Some of them are, while others aren’t. However, you can make your own lemon sorbet easily at home. Just peel enough lemons and leave them in the freeze overnight. In the morning put them in a blender and enjoy your delicious frozen treat!

Raspberry sorbet can be vegan depending on the ingredients used. For instance, Ciao Bella sells a delicious one hundred percent vegan raspberry sorbet!

Sorbet ice cream is not vegan unless specifically stated on the package.

If you find the right brand, yes! It can be vegan! For instance, Ciao Bella sells a delicious chocolate-coconut sorbet made with only plant-based ingredients!

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

are-wheat-thins-vegan-logo

Are Wheat Thins vegan? – 2022

The baked whole wheat cracker brand has been around for a while. Making Wheat Thins a favorite snack for many. But are whole grain wheat

Genghis Grill Vegan Menu Options

Everything Vegan at Genghis Grill (2022)

Genghis Grill has some pretty decent vegan options, including oodles of stir-fried vegetables, many sauces, and some vegan protein options like tofu to add in.