The Best Vegan Burger King Guide (USA, 2023)

Fact-checked badge

Burger King has Fantastic Vegan Options in the USA as of 2022, with many menu items during any time of the day – the only downside is the vegan options are often pricier than the non-vegan versions, which is quite bothersome.

However, keep in mind many of the vegan options Burger King has currently must be “veganized” by removing certain elements from them — such as the mayo that comes by default on the Impossible Whopper (vegan whopper). They are probably not going to get to the level of Slutty Vegan, but still, they are seemingly moving in the right direction.

Check out our brand new vegan guide!

Does Burger King have vegan breakfast?

Not much, but you wouldn’t starve to death at the American burger chain.

burger king vegan option - hash browns

Unfortunately, Burger King’s Impossible Croissan’wich isn’t cruelty-free and cannot be made vegan-friendly unless you simply order the patty by itself — this is because the croissant it’s on is not vegan-friendly as well as they put eggs/cheese on it.A pleasant surprise is that the french toast sticks are an “accidentally vegan” item at Burger King since They don’t contain dairy products or eggs.

Vegan Lunch/Dinner Options at Burger King:

  • Impossible Burger (Specify no Mayo)
  • The Impossible Southwest Bacon Whopper (with small modifications)
  • The Impossible King (Specify no cheese)
  • French Fries
  • Mott’s Applesauce
  • PB&J Sandwich (From Kids Menu)
  • Garden Side Salad (Specify no cheese or croutons)

Unfortunately, Burger King’s Onion Rings are not vegan-friendly as the crust they use contains milk — which is a shame, but hey if you’re looking for plant-based onion rings you can stop by Sonic with has many vegan options including the popular sides without dairy and egg.

Keep in mind that fast food giant doesn’t use a separate grill for impossible burgers — some locations will try to allocate a small portion for them, others won’t — but if you want to be sure to avoid meat-juice cross-contamination you can ask for them to cook it separately — usually this will mean the microwave.

vegan impossible burger at burger king

Source: https://impossiblefoods.com/burgerking

Is the mayo on the Impossible Whopper vegan?

Just a quick, but important fact about BK’s vegan burgers: No, unfortunately, the mayo isn’t vegan (yet), so exclude it when you order Impossible whooper. 

What is the Burger King vegan burger made of?

The popular fast food chain’s first plant-based Whopper comes with a flame-grilled plant-based patty topped with crispy lettuce, ketchup, crunchy pickles, mayonnaise (unfortunately, they don’t have egg-free mayo), and sliced white onion.

All served on a toasted sesame bun. The only downside is the amount of salt. Therefore, you cover more than your daily salt intake with only one Impossible Whopper. Apart from this negative impact on your health, it could be a perfect choice at the BK.

Keep in mind that fast food chain doesn’t use a separate grill for impossible burgers — some locations will try to allocate a small portion for them, others won’t — but if you want to be sure to avoid meat-juice cross-contamination you can ask for them to cook it separately — usually this will mean the microwave.It seems like the partnership with Impossible Foods Inc is going well, since they added two items to the menu which come with a plant-based patty.
vegan burger king

Let’s see The Impossible Southwest Bacon Whopper

Despite the fact It comes with plant-based impossible patty, It is not even vegetarian! Strange isn’t it? In the first place, It contains bacon which is topped with American cheese. Nevertheless, It could be easily veganized. You can order it without cheese and bacon, and change the spicy sauce for something else (see below). As a result, you will get a delicious burger with avocado spread and seasoned tortilla.

The Impossible King vs The Impossible Whopper

What is the difference between them? In a word, not much. Especially for a Vegans. The Impossible King comes with cheese and mustard. So unlike the Whopper, you have to exclude the cheese instead of the mayo and that’s all.

Vegan Dressings & Sauces at Burger King:

  • BBQ Sauce
  • Sweet & Sour Sauce
  • Italian Salad Dressing
  • Potentially others (see below)

Some locations of BK will have other sauces that are cruelty-free so if you’re going inside you can always ask to read the ingredients list on them as each little packet has the ingredients on them — but the above 3 are always available and free from animal ingredients.

Is there any vegan dessert at BK?

Yes, they have. Not much, but still better than many similar places.

dutch apple pie as burger king vegan option
  • Dutch Apple Pie
  • Coffee
  • Orange Juice
  • Sodas

Alright really only one of those is a real dessert — the rest are just drinks you can consider a dessert if you really want to, particularly if you add disgusting amounts of sugar into your coffee. But the only actual vegan-friendly dessert at BK is their Pie, the cookies and other stuff are non-vegan. Still, better than most fast-food restaurants.

BK vegan options outside the US

The popular brand launched Its plant-based burger called “Rebel Whopper” in 2019. It was available all across Europe in 2.500 different restaurants. Similar to the Impossible Burger, It comes with non-vegan mayo, so basically It’s only vegetarian.

The patty is other than the one they use in the US. The Rebel Whopper’s “meat” made by the dutch brand called “Vegeterian Butcher”. However, the meat-free patties share the same cooking surface with other items, so the cross confirmation is a real issue there as well.

Burger King Vegan heaven in the UK

In the UK Burger King went even further. By working with The Vegetarian Butcher™ and The Vegan Society®, They offer 7 different decent Vegan meals across the country.

  • Vegan Nuggets with sweet chili dip
  • Vegan Royale – The original chicken sandwich without real chicken
  • Plant-Based Whopper® – Everything the same, but It comes with plant-based patty and mayo

Veganuary update 2023

BK in the UK is unstoppable on the plant-based front. They work with a french company called La Via, which developed 100 % vegan bacon. As a result, the number of vegan options in the UK grew even larger. 3 more totally plant-based burgers are waiting for everybody with “Bakon”.

  • Plant-based Bakon King: A flame-grilled plant-based WHOPPER® patty in our classic WhOPPER® bun, layered with slices of smooth vegan cheeeze and strips of vegan bakon, topped with egg-free mayo and ketchup.
  • Plant-based Bakon King Double: The same, but with even more plant yummy.
  • Vegan Royale BaKon King: The famous Vegan Royale patty nestled in a soft sesame bun, topped with sizzling vegan bakon, two slices of smooth vegan cheeeze, and drizzled with egg-free mayo and ketchup. No animal ingredients in sight.

Disclaimer: Plant-based burgers are free from animal ingredients, however, it is cooked on the same broiler as our Whopper® to deliver the same unique flame-grilled taste.

Maybe one day, these delicious plant-based burgers will travel across the ocean right to the United States. Until then, at least we have plant-based whooper.

Is there any other question to ask?

Burger King has Fantastic Vegan Options in the USA for Breakfast (e.g.: French Toast Sticks, Hash Browns, Oatmeal, Iced Coffe), Lunch or Dinner (Impossible Burger with no Mayo, French Fries) as well. Thankfully, their Dutch Pie is also considered vegan. For the full list, check out our article!

Unfortunately, the onion rings at Burger King are not vegan since they are made with an animal derivative called Whey.  

Yes, the buns at Burger King are vegan! They do not use any animal by-products to make them. (no eggs or dairy) 

Yes, Burger King’s Dutch Apple Pie is considered vegan. No animal by-products are used and it is amazing!

The Impossible Burger at Burger King is great and you can make it vegan by passing on the Mayo!

Yes, the French Fries at Burger King are vegan! They do not contain any animal by-products and according to Burger King They are using a dedicated fryer for them with sunflower oil. So It is safe from cross-contamination.

Yes, the French Toast Sticks are vegan at Burger King! They do not contain any animal by-products and according to the allergen information table. However, they use the shared fryer for it, so the cross-condonation could be a no-go.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.