Best Guide to eating Vegan at BJ’s in 2023

Fact-checked badge

Is there anything Vegan at BJ’s at all in the first place?

First of all, BJ’s restaurant at first glance doesn’t appear to be a vegan-friendly restaurant, but if you look closer they have quite good vegan options just like in Cheesecake Factory, and while it wouldn’t be my #1 choice to eat at, I wouldn’t have an issue having a meal there with family if everyone was going to bj’s Restaurant & Brewhouse.

With that being said, don’t expect some vegan paradise; or even anything too good — they haven’t added a vegan burger or vegan-specific entries or anything like that to the menu yet. However, still better than most of the fast-food chain.

But hey, you can get some pasta, a pretty good lotta-topping pizza (albeit kinda expensive), and many delicious sides and appetizers, as well as some more standard things you’d expect to be vegan at a restaurant like this such as Baked Potatoes.

Let’s see what’s vegan at Bj’s brewhouse!


Nothing much to offer in short. Just some typical fast food quick bites.

BJ's Turmeric Roasted Cauliflower

Really those are the only vegan-friendly shareable appetizers they offer; although you can always order a salad as an appetizer as well, it just won’t really be shareable with others like people usually do with appetizers. If you do this make sure you check the salad section of this article for which dressings and salads are vegan-friendly.

At least the fries are vegan unlike McDonald’s which contains dairy and the tortilla is naturally plant-based.

Vegan-friendly Primary Meal Options at BJ’s

While there are countless entrée on Bj’s menu, there are quite a few that is vegan or can be veganized.

vegan at bjs
  • Vegan Pizzas (Order without Cheese, ask for no butter on Crust)
  • Vegan Lentil Ancient Grains Soup (More of a side to be paired with a Salad or Baked Potato since it’s quite small)
  • Peruvian Quinoa Bowl (Not on all locations menu, but generally able to be ordered)
  • Boiled Pasta with Mariana Sauce (Confirm, off-menu but available at most locations)
  • Many Salad Options (See next section)

Build your own Pizza

I know I didn’t list the toppings for the pizzas like I normally do, and that’s for a few reasons. Namely it varies slightly by locations, and also there’s really no need to do so as they have pretty much every vegetable-topping imaginable short of a vegan-meat topping, and everything you’d expect to be vegan as a topping is plant-based. So, just skip the non vegan toppings in short.
Secondly, if you are in trouble with decision-making, you can go along with the vegetarian pizza. Just make sure that you order it without cheese!


For the Pasta at Bj’s, the menu-options aren’t vegan-friendly, but if you ask if you can just get a big spaghetti with Mariana Sauce meal they’ll usually be able to do it and that should be vegan-friendly. Often it’s not an option, although it used to be on the kids menu it isn’t always anymore. Do not except too much, not even close to Evelyn’s Favorite Pasta.

Vegan Lentil Ancient Grains Soup

This is the only certified vegan item on the menu. It isn’t only free from animal ingredients, but healthy and delicious. However, the portion is quite tiny, so you should order one (or more) the side next to it.

Vegan Salad Options at BJ’s Brewhouse & Restaurant:

You can also try to build-your-own vegan salad, but sometimes they aren’t okay with that at the restaurant, so you’d have to see if it’s possible at your local BJ’s Restaurant & Brewery, but generally it’s possible in my experience. You’ll just be charged for a more expensive entree salad generally, but it does make a meal all in it’s own if they’ll actually do it.

Enlightened kale and roasted brussels sprouts salad aka the Superfoods salad

Now, this is something! Everything that you need in one salad and only one ingredient have to go. The Superfoods salad comes with Baby Kale, Brussels Sprouts, Blueberries, Red Grapes, Cranberries, Toasted Pepitas, Red Onions, Cucumber, Candied pecan, and Goat cheese. Obviously, you have to remove the last one and your fresh and healthy plant-based salad is ready.

Dressings and Vinaigrattes

According to BJ’s allergen guide, the following dressings and vinaigrettes are free from animal ingredients:

  • Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Strawberry Vinaigrette
  • Rice Wine Vinaigrette
  • Olive oil & Vinegar
  • Italian Dressing
  • Avocado/Guacamole
  • Chimichurri Sauce

Everything else contains dairy, eggs, or even worse things for sure.

All of the sides

vegan at bjs_salsa
  • Baked Potato (No Cheese/Butter/Sour-Cream)
  • Sauteed Asparagus
  • Broccoli
  • Regular French Fries
  • Quinoa and Brown Rice Blend
  • Rice Pilaf (Rice, red bell pepper, green onion)
  • Sauteed Green Beans
  • Guacamole & Chips (Appetizer)
  • Garlic Bread Knots
  • Turmeric-Roasted Cauliflower (Small Bites Side)
  • Sweet Potato Fries (Small Bites Side)
  • Vegan Lentil Ancient Grains Soup
  • Apple Sauce (Kids Menu)

Honestly the sides at BJ’s are just great — while you can get a vegan pizza at BJ’s or some pasta, both of those kinda feel wrong to order sides with to me, and since the sides are my favorite at BJ’s, so I usually opt for the vegan soup or a salad and get a couple sides.
bjs vegan sides

Anything else to offer?

Nothing much but homemade Rootbeer and tons of typcal sodas and drinks like the following:

  • Pepsi
  • Dr. Pepper (It’s vegan for sure)
  • Iced tea
  • Hot tea
  • Green tea
  • Bunch of limonedes
  • Coffee
  • Decaf Coffee
  • Various Sodas
  • and so on…

A bejegyzés megtekintése az Instagramon

BJ’s Restaurant & Brewhouse (@bjsrestaurants) által megosztott bejegyzés

Vegan-friendly Desserts at BJ’s:

  • Apple Sauce
  • Apple Juice
  • Fresh Fruit

Despite the tons of plant-based sides, BJ’s Brewhouse doesn’t offer any “real” vegan-friendly desserts like brownies or cookies, unfortunately, which is a real bummer as I remember they were the best I had at a restaurant before going vegan. Even Burger King has accidentally vegan apple pie. Maybe in 5 years they’ll get with the times and make them vegan-friendly; you can definitely make just as good of brownies that are cruelty-free.

BJ’s as a Vegan in Summary

While there is only one certified vegan stuff at the restaurant, you won’t starve to death. There are plenty of vegan friendly options – other than french fries –  if you do not bother yourself with cross contamination. However, if you are following a strict vegan diet and cross contamination is a no-go, then you gonna have some trouble, since their kitchen operations involve shared preparation areas, fryer oil, and cooking surfaces.

Frequently Asked Questions

Unfortunately, the veggie burger at bj’s contains milk, thus it is not vegan.

Although BJ’s haven’t added a vegan burger yet, there are a tons of stuff we can as vegans:

Appetizers – such as Chips & Guacamole, French Fry Basket, etc

Sides – such as fries, Baked Potatos, Sweet Potato fries, etc.

They also have a fantastic Vegan Lentil Ancient Grains Soup!  

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.