What are Dunkin Donuts Vegan Options in 2023?

Are Dunkin Donuts Vegan?

Fact-checked badge

Unfortunately, Dunkin’ Donuts doesn’t have any vegan donuts, yet… On the other hand, you won’t starve to death there, since the American restaurant chain offers pretty good vegan options. As a company has said they are looking into creating a vegan donut, but for now, the solid vegan options at Dunkin are mostly drinks and a few breakfast items that can be put together to make a plant-based breakfast sandwich.

If you are looking for a plant-based Dunkin Donuts sandwich…

Dunkin used to have what they called a plant based sausage sandwich, made with Beyond meat, eggs and cheese on an English muffin. This is no longer on the menu. Dunkin Donuts has mentioned that there may be more coming from Beyond Meat at Dunkin Donuts. There are no vegan donuts at Dunkin’ and they took vegan sausage off their vegan menu (at least Gregg’s still has them), but here is a description of what is vegan at Dunkin.

Does Dunkin Donuts have vegan options?

Yes, the breakfast has a pretty good selection of plant-based items. What a pleasant surprise! Dunkin Donuts vegan options starting with food menu items are

  • plain English muffins
  • hash browns
  • plain bagels
  • cinnamon raisin bagels everything bagels
  • sesame bagels (multi-grain bagel has honey too)
  • avocado toast
  • avocado spread
  • hash browns
  • plain oatmeal with dried fruit (not at all locations, unfortunately)

Are Dunkin Donuts bagels vegan?

The bagels do contain dough conditioners, which sometimes contain animal ingredients, but these were verified to contain only malted barley, flour, and enzymes and no l-cysteine (an animal product).

How about the vegan sandwich?

Using the plant based options mentioned above, you can make yourself a breakfast sandwich with your choice of bagel or English muffin (like the ones offered by Dempster’s), but Dunkin’s butter and cream cheese are both non vegan, and if you do not specify no cream cheese or no butter they may automatically add it, so specify “plain, no cream cheese/no butter” and enjoy your bagel or English muffin plain or with the avocado spread. Feeling fancy? Add some hash browns onto the sandwich (and on the side because they are that good, trust me!).

Coffee & other drinks

The vegan menu for drinks is a little bigger, so kudos to them in that regard. Vegans can enjoy any

  • iced coffee
  • hot coffee
  • espresso shot black coffee or with oat milk or almond milk

The vegan flavored syrups are

  • vanilla
  • hazelnut (which is the all-time-best in my opinion)
  • toasted almond
  • blueberry
  • raspberry
  • coconut
  • mocha swirl

Dunkin’s matcha latte and Chai Latte with oat milk, almond milk, coconut milk

Iced teas are all also vegan and can be flavored with any of the vegan syrups. All styles of drink, Latte, Macchiato, Americano, iced or hot, can be made vegan using any of the plant based milks and syrups.

Finally, Are Dunkin Donuts refreshers vegan?

Luckily, most of them are totally vegan. The whole list is below:

  • Strawberry and Blue Raspberry Coolatas,
  • Dunkin Refreshers,
  • Dunkin Coconut Refreshers, and my other favorite, the Dunkin Energy Punch (can not be found at all locations) are also pretty nice additions to the list of Dunkin Donuts vegan options.

To stay on the safe side of Vegan pleasures, make sure to ask for “no whipped cream” on any of Dunkin’s hot or iced beverages that may get whipped cream on top. I already made the mistake once of not being specific, so you don’t have to. 

Does Dunkin Donuts have vegan donuts?


Unfortunately, there are no vegan donuts at Dunkin. So, while you can’t enjoy an actual donut at the restaurant chain (yet), you can enjoy almost all the beverages, and several breakfast options, at all hours of the day on the Dunkin vegan menu. The breakfast restaurant looks to have more vegan menu items coming, but until then, you’ll find only a few plant based foods you can eat at Dunkin’s.

It is a bit of a shame, since going to a donut place should be about eating at least one tasty donut. Indeed.

Frequently Asked Questions

Nope. No vegan donuts are available at Dunkin at the moment. However, there are several other tasty options for us, like their English Muffin, Hash Browns or their Chai Latte.

Yes! The Hash Browns at Dunkin contain no dairy or any animal by-products, so we can label them as vegan. 

In early 2021, Dunkin listed their avocado toast on their plant-based breakfest list. They are safe for us vegans.

Nope, Unfortunately, the Pumpkin Spice – which is a mix of Pumpkin Flavored Swirl and Cream Cold Foam – contains dairy. If you are vegan, just stay away from it.

Unfortunately, the Croissants at Dunkin contain butter, making them non-vegan.

Yes, the plain English Muffins are safe for us, vegans. According to fooducate, these are the ingredients:

Enriched Wheat Flour (Wheat Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Water, Modified Wheat Starch, Yeast, Sugarcane Fiber, Contains less than 2% of: High Fructose Corn Syrup, Chicory Root Fiber, Degerminated Yellow Corn Flour, Durum Wheat, Wheat Gluten, Vinegar, Calcium Propionate (Preservative), Salt, Dextrose, Soybean Oil, Degermed Yellow Cornmeal, Degermed Yellow Corn Flour, Calcium Sulfate, Fumaric Acid.

None of the Donuts at Dunkin Donuts are vegan at the moment. They all contain either eggs or milk.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.