Every Whataburger Vegan Options (2022)

Table of Contents

Whataburger Logo Vegan Options

I’ve grown up in Texas and probably haven’t ever lived more than 5-10 minutes from a Whataburger despite living in many small towns, so this darn place is popular, at least where I’ve always lived. Honestly, I was never a big fan of them as I never ate burgers, or eggs, or really what makes them so popular.

I still don’t like them much, but now that’s because they have very little vegan options — which unfortunately has yet to change even in 2022. While many other burger joints like Carls Jr and Burger King have came out with vegan burgers, Whataburger still has no such alternative for us vegans. A real shame — but I don’t expect anything else from a Texas-centric place.

Vegan Food-Items at Whataburger:

  • Tortillas
  • Regular buns
  • Wheat Buns
  • Texas Toast (no butter)
  • Hash Brown Sticks
  • Apple Slices
  • French Fries
  • Garden Salad (no cheese)

Their burger-toppings as in their cold vegetables (pickles, onion, etc) are obviously vegan as well, but otherwise that’s all they have. Their salads are generally premade, like most fast-food joints, but if they can make one without cheese (often they aren’t) the balsamic vinegar dressing would be your only option, as it should be vegan as well, however from my experience they’re prone to not having any quite often.

Vegan sauces and dreessings

  • Mustard
  • Fancy Ketchup
  • Spicy Ketchup
  • Herb Vinaigrette 
  • Balsamic Vinaigrette 

Vegan Drinks & Shakes at Whataburger:

  • All Sodas
  • Orange Juice
  • (Black) Coffee

Unfortuantely they don’t have any vegan-options when it comes to their milkshakes, but hey, it’s whataburger what else can you expect.

So how does Whataburger look for a Vegan?

Not too great.

Your only real option to putting a meal together is to get some apple slices for some freshness and fries or preferably hash browns and making a sandwich with a bread of your choice. There’s just no real other way to put things together.

I’d avoid Whataburger as a Vegan unless I just wanted some fries, as they are at least vegan at Whataburger unlike at McDonalds. Otherwise other fast-food options, like Wendy’s, would be far better since you have more (and healthier) options at other places.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Whataburger have vegan options?

To be honest, there aren’t too many vegan-friendly options at Whataburger. Probably the best choice is the french fries with one of the special ketchup. You can order some garden salad or make up your own veggie sandwich as well. However, probably they won’t be quite satisfying.

Are Whataburger fries vegan?

Great news, Whataburger’s fries are vegan! According to Its website, all the restaurants use “ZTF Whataburger liquid shortening” for cooking, which is basically Soybean oil.

Are Whataburger onion rings vegan

Unfortunately, It isn’t Vegan, since It contains milk and egg.

Is Whataburger ketchup vegan?

Certainly, It is! Spicy and fancy ketchup are vegan as well.

Does Whataburger have a vegan burger?

Hopefully, we could say that “Not yet”. A lot of popular fast-food chains testing their plant-based options currently, maybe Whataburger will be the next one that follows this trend.

 

Other Articles to Check Out:

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

TGI Fridays Vegan Menu Options Logo

Everything Vegan at TGI Friday’s (2022)

TGI Friday’s has multiple very good vegan-friendly options, and while their selection may be relatively limited the vegan menu options they have are fantastic. They

Saladworks Vegan Options Logo

Everything Vegan at Saladworks (2022)

While I rarely ever get Salads, as to me they’re normally just not very interesting, Saladworks and other “salad places” like Sweet Tomatoes do salads

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts