Everything Vegan at Shake Shack (2023)

Fact-checked badge

Shake Shack’s vegan options are extremely limited currently, with most locations having pretty much just French fries on their menu and a build-your-own veggie burger.

As a result, we’d honestly recommend going somewhere else if at all possible, as really pretty much anywhere is better for us vegans compared to shake shack. Only McDonalds really is worse than the New York-based restaurant chain for us. Shake almost has more items for dogs than vegans!

In Late-2021 Shake, Shack announced a partnership with slutty vegan in Atlanta, so some of their east-coast locations may have a new vegan-friendly burger we mention below now.

Vegan-Friendly Items at Shake Shack:

shake shack vegan
  • French Fries
  • Veggie Shack (Specify no cheese, swap bun for gluten-free bun — not available at all locations)
  • Vegan ‘SluttyShack’ (only at select east-coast locations)
  • Vegetable Sandwich on gluten-free bun (burger with no meat/cheese)

That’s really all Shake Shack offers for us vegans — at 80%~ of the locations it seems like all they have is french fries, gluten-free bread, and sandwich toppings (tomato, lettuce, etc). It’s just not really viable to eat a meal there as a result if you’re vegan, but if you’re in luck there are some locations with vegan-friendly burger options, although honestly having tried the veggie shack, it wasn’t very good it reminded me of a microwaved gardein blackbean patty.

Hopefully in the near future Shake Shack introduces a vegan burger nationwide, even if it’s just a beyond burger or impossible burger that’s fine — but until then I’d avoid them at all cost as a vegan — pretty much every other burger place is more vegan-friendly than shake shack for us currently.

There is one more item, that sounds like a plant-based one, but don’t let it fool you! ‘Shroom Burger contains mushroom patty, lettuce, tomato, ShackSauce, and burger bun. Unfortunately, It won’t be cruelty-free, even if you substitute the sauce. The patty is made of mushrooms – mostly -, but the portobello mushroom is stuffed with cheese. How sad.

Burger update (2022)!

Luckily, It seems like Veggie ShackBurger became available at many locations across the United States.  Furthermore, It’s only part of the good news! The fast-food chain made a little change with a receipt, so from now, you don’t have to change a thing to make it Vegan. You don’t have to order it with gluten-free bun, since It comes in a dairy and egg-free bun. Where can you find it? According to Shake Sack e-mail, at the following places:

Firstly, It was only available at several locations: Shacks in New York City (Midtown East, UES, Astor Place), LA (WeHo and Glendale), and Austin (The Domain). Not surprisingly, it was popular, so now It is available in many new places:

New York

* Penn Station

* Flatbush

* Morningside Heights

* New Hyde Park

* Astor Place

* Midtown East

* Upper East Side

* West Village

* Harlem

• California

* UTC San Diego

* El Segundo

* Downtown LA

* West Hollywood

* Glendale

* Westlake Village

* Burbank


* Rice Village

* Dallas Uptown

* Preston Royal

* Plano

* South Lamar

* The Domain

Hopefully, the trend will continue, and It will be available nationwide soon.

shake shack vegan burger

What About Their Drinks?

Generally we do not include Drinks, as they’re normally always vegan — there may be one exception at shake shack though. Some locations sell red wine, which technically isn’t always vegan friendly — but beyond that all their drinks should be 100% vegan friendly currently.


In a word, It is promising. The popular American fast-food chain isn’t the best place for vegans, overall It isn’t so bad. Their fries are vegan, unlike McDonald’s. In addition, they are testing a totally vegan burger called “Veggie ShakeShack” at several locations and the number is increasing! 

Fact-checked for vegan

Frequently Asked Questions

If you have any further questions, don’t hesitate to ask us! We happily answer for that or we will find out for you!

Shake Shack does not have many vegan options, but there are some. You can try their French Fries, Veggie Shack, Vegan ‘SluttyShack’ and their Vegetable Sandwich. 

The only burger at Shake Shack that can be made vegan is the Veggie Shack. You used to to ask for a gluten-free bun and remove the cheese. However, not anymore, or at least at a several locations.

Unfortunately, none of Shake Shack’s Shakes can be made vegan currently. They all contain milk or other animal products.

Yes! Thankfully, Shake Shack does not use beef to fry their fries, so their fries are vegan.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.