Everything Vegan at Steak ‘n Shake (2023)

Table of Contents

Steak N' Shake Vegan Options

Steak ‘N Shake has a handful of vegan options, but nothing too spectacular, but none the less enough things to make a half-decent meal out of.

In fact, you can actually have quite a good meal at Steak N’ Shake if you know what to order, in particular how to veganize the veggie melt they sell.

We’ll cover how to do all that below, as well as all their other vegan options — which are alright.

Vegan Main Courses at Steak N' Shake:

  • Veggie Melt (No Butter/Margarine or Cheese)
  • Vegetable Soup (Many Locations it’s Non-vegan, ask about the broth)
Really the go-to choice at Steak N’ Shake for a vegan should be the Veggie melt without Cheese or Margarine with a side of fries and maybe some guacamole.

Vegan Side Dishes at Steak N' Shake:

steak n shake vegan fries
  • Seasoned Fries
  • French Fries
  • Apple Sauce
  • Baked Beans
  • Banana
  • Apple
  • Mandarin Orange
  • Garden Salad
  • Guacamole
  • Rye Bread
  • Sourdough Bread
  • Brioche Bun
  • Knotted Bun
  • Vegetable Soup (Some Locations it’s Non-vegan, ask about the broth)

Vegan Toppings at Steak N' Shake:

  • Corn and Black Beans (cold topping)
  • Tomato
  • Lettuce
  • Onions
  • Pickle Slices
  • Red Cabbage
  • Dried Cranberries
  • Mushrooms
  • Salsa
  • Garlic Salt
  • Mustard
  • Ken’s Barbecue Sauce
  • Ken’s Maple Bourbon Sauce
  • Fry’n Steakburger Seasoning
  • Savory Seasoning
  • Caramelized Onions
  • Crispy Onions
  • Dill Pickles
  • Pico de Gallo
  • Lettuce
  • Onion
  • Tomato
  • Liquid Margarine
  • Saltines (Not all locations — check the brand specifically)
  • Oyster Crackers (Not all locations — check the brand specifically)

So How's Steak N' Shake for a Vegan?

It’s actually not too bad, it’s not fantastic mind you, but it’s way better than many of burger places such as Smashburger or Five Guys who have nothing more than french fries — if even that!

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes! Their Seasoned Fries and French Fries are both vegan. Thankfully, they are not using animal fat in the frying process.

Nope. According to the ingredients list on Fooducate, their onion rings contain animal-derived whey, thus they are not vegan.

Other Articles to Check Out:

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

Peace Tea Vegan Flavors

What Peace Tea Flavors are Vegan? (2023)

Peace Tea comes in 7 distinct flavors currently, as they’ve discontinued some flavors in the last couple years, including my former favorite flavor (pink lemonade).

The Counter Vegan Options Logo

Everything Vegan at The Counter (2023)

The Counter is a build-your-own burger joint that was started in California and has since gone International to many different markets. They have many great

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts