Everything Vegan at Johnny Rockets (Mid-2019)

Johnny Rockets Vegan Options Logo

Johnny Rockets doesn’t have many vegan options, but what they do have is dang-good. Johnny Rockets has a vegan burger, numerous vegan fries, and many other sides to choose from that are vegan.

Hopefully they introduced some new vegan options sometime soon, as while they used to be one of the few places with any real options they’re quickly becoming just another burger chain with a vegan option.

Regardless thanks to veganism’s growing popularity there’s at least a good vegan option, and some sides and other goodies to choose from at Johnny Rockets.

Vegan Main Courses (Entrees) at Johnny Rockets:

  • Gardein Black Bean Burger (See Below – substitute non-vegan bun)
  • Boca Vegan Burger

While the patties their self are vegan Johnny Rockets sometimes puts them on gluten-free buns apparently, which contains eggs, thus making them non-vegan. Just make sure they put it on any of the non-gluten free buns, be it a sourdough, a wheat, or a hoagie bun. Just anything but the gluten-free bun.

Vegan Sides & Appetizers at Johnny Rockets:

  • French Fries
  • Sweet Potato Fries (Not All Locations)
  • Tater Tots
  • Applesauce (kids)
  • Fruit Cup (kids)
Other than a side-salad, which will be mentioned below in the salad section, this appears to be all there is for us vegans at Johnny Rockets. Their fries are good, don’t get me wrong, but it’d be nice to have had more than just fried potato.

Vegan Salad Options at Johnny Rockets:

  • Side Salad (No Cheese)
  • Garden Salad (No Cheese)
  • Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Fat Free Italian (Confirm it’s vegan)
I’ve heard their fat-free Italian dressing isn’t always vegan, as some locations it’s non-vegan, so I’d confirm it is in fact vegan, as usually fat-free italian is vegan. I’ve never personally encountered non-vegan Fat-free italian dressing at Johnny Rockets, but I’ve seen people mention it before on forums, so apparently at least a few years back it wasn’t always vegan.

Vegan Desserts Options at Johnny Rockets:

  • Apple Pie
  • Fruit Cup (kids)

While it’s not much, most places have no vegan options whatsoever when it comes to desert, other than maybe a fruit cup. It’s a shocker that their apple pie is Vegan, but apparently it is.

If they don’t have Apple Pie they may have other pies, but don’t assume those to be Vegan, as from my understanding Apple Pie is the only vegan one. Go ahead and ask though, it’s really a grey area as non-apple pies aren’t a standard menu item at Johnny Rockets.