Everything Vegan at Krispy Kreme (2022)

Table of Contents

Krispy Kreme Logo Vegan Donuts

While there have been tons of folks asking Krispy Kreme to release a vegan donut, they waited until the end of 2021 with the introduction of their first batch.

Hopefully, Krispy Kreme steps up their game even more in vegan food variety, but until then they don’t have many vegan options.

Vegan Donuts at Krispy Kreme:

krispy kreme vegan options 2

In 2021, Krispy Kreme announced that they’ll launch their first vegan donut pack at the end of the year, and they kept their word. In 2022, you can get four types of vegan donuts at Krispy Kreme:

  • Caramel Choc Delight: this amazing donut contains caramel fillings and tasty Belgian chocolate with chocolatey icing drizzle and caramel icing topping. 
  • Fudge Brownie Bliss: Filled with chocolate and topped with tasty brownie pieces. Just be careful when eating these: the topping will possibly fall off and mess up your shirt…
  • Apple Crumble: As you could probably guess, it is filled with apple and custard, and topped with a very nice layer of golden crumble. 
  • Original Glazed vegan ring doughnuts: original taste but the recipe is vegan certified as they claim.

As you can see, the options are very limited, but finally, we can enjoy vegan donuts at Krispy Kreme. Yessss!

Why are the original Krispy Kreme Donuts non-Vegan?

Okay, so they now have 4 vegan donut opitons. What about the others?

While doughnuts can easily be made vegan they are generally made with milk powder and eggs, as that’s just how the largest doughnut brands historically made them.

In the case of Krispy Kreme their original doughnuts are non-vegan as they contain egg yolks as well as Dried Milk Powder. So Krispy Kreme’s original glazed donuts are not only non-vegan, but also not dairy-free.

On the plus side, they don’t use lard in them, but that’s not much of a consolation for us Vegans. Hopefully, they catch up to the times and ditch the unnecessary milk powder in all of their donuts and use apple sauce or apple cider vinegar instead of the egg yolks.

Vegan Drinks Available at Krispy Kreme:

krispy kreme vegan options

While they don’t have a soy creamer or stock non-dairy milk they do have a few options here. Nothing spectacular though.

  • Black Coffee
  • Expresso (not at all locations)
  • Various Juices
  • Black Coffee
  • Frozen Lemonade or Strawberry Chiller (Slush)
  • Sodas
  • Various Tea’s

Vegan Bagel Options at Krispy Kreme:

While they aren’t sold over here in the USA, Krispy Kreme sells Bagels in some countries abroad, so I wanted to make sure all you international-vegans didn’t get spooked by me not listing the bagels.

If Krispy Kreme sells bagels near you they’ll be vegan so long as you request them without butter, and they usually have avocado, Jam, Vegemite, or Peanut butter to put on it. No Vegan Creme Cheese as of now though.

So How is Krispy Kreme for a Vegan?

They don’t stack up any better than most chain donut places, but at least Krispy Kreme started to pump out some very tasty vegan donuts.

They finally understood (or just started to care) that there’s really no reason for a Vegan to go to any non-Vegan specific donut shop that doesn’t have more than black coffee or tea for vegans.

We’d be better off simply going to a coffee shop, even if it’s just Starbucks.

Frequently Asked Questions

Since the end of 2021, you can get 4 vegan donuts at Krispy Kreme: Fudge Brownie Bliess, Caramel Choc Delight, Apple Crumbe, Original Glazed vegan ring doughnut.

The other original Krispy Kreme donuts are non-vegan as they contain egg yolks as well as Dried Milk Powder. 

Krispy Kreme has vegan options (bagels, drinks), and last year they also added 4 vegan donuts to their menu: Fudge Brownie Bliss, Caramel Choc Delight, Apple Crumble, Original Glazed vegan ring doughnut

The majority of Krispy Kreme glazed donuts are non-vegan as they contain egg yolks as well as Dried Milk Powder.

However, you can get 4 vegan-certified donuts at Krispy Kreme since 2022: Fudge Brownie Bliess, Caramel Choc Delight, Apple Crumbe, Original Glazed vegan ring doughnut

Other Articles to Check Out:

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

Love Hearts Vegan Candy

Are Love Hearts Candy Vegan? (2022)

Love Hearts as known in Europe, or Sweet Hearts for those in North America, are a sugary candy that’s quite popular, especially around valentines day.

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts