Everything Vegan at Papa Murphy’s (2022)

Table of Contents

Papa Murphy's Vegan Options Logo

Papa Murphy’s has many different vegan options including two vegan crusts, five sauces, and over a dozen tasty vegetable/fruit toppings! They also have some Salad options for us Vegans to choose from, but unfortunately they lack a vegan salad dressing currently.

The only downside is Papa Murphy’s doesn’t have Vegan cheese at all their locations (Violife was available at selected restaurants in the US), but since YOU cook their pizza’s you can easily add it on yourself at home before you bake it.

Vegan Pizza Crusts at Papa Murphy's:

  • Original (Hand-Tossed Style) Crust
  • Thin & Crispy Crust

While some Papa Murphy’s locations do have other crusts, such as a Gluten-free crust, they’re almost never Vegan. I’ve heard the New-York style crust can be vegan, however I’ve also heard and been told the opposite by Papa Murphy’s its self.

As for the other crusts not mentioned above, like the gluten-free crust, they’re always non-vegan as they contain dairy or eggs. In the case of the gluten-free crust it contains eggs.

vegan papa murphys

Vegan Pizza Toppings at Papa Murphy's:

  • Onions
  • Tomatoes
  • Mushrooms
  • Artichoke Hearts
  • Spinach
  • Pickles
  • Zesty Herb Blend
  • Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
  • Black Olives
  • Green Bell Peppers
  • Zucchini
  • Sun-Dried Tomatoes
  • Pineapple
  • Green Onions
  • Roasted Garlic
  • Chopped Garlic

Remember you can ask for a side of some of the below mentioned sauces to go with it to either put more on the pizza later or use as a dip.

This (toppings) is one area where while Papa Murphy’s has great options, due to how us vegans usually work (no cheese, lots of veggies) their pricing structure for their pizzas really make them costly. As a result I typically would recommend going to a place with unlimited toppings like Blaze Pizza, but hey, at least they have some pretty good veggie toppings at Papa Murphy’s even if it’s a bit costly.

Some locations also have vegan pepperoni now, however apparently they don’t carry it everywhere or they run out quite often as the places we checked with had none.

Vegan Pizza Sauces & Dipping Options:

  • Marinara Sauce
  • Traditional Pizza Sauce
  • Barbecue Sauce
  • Sweet Chili Sauce
  • Olive Oil & Garlic Sauce

There are a few other sauces, such as a cream cheese frosting, and a cinnamon thing, but both of them contain dairy and thus aren’t vegan.

Vegan Salad Options at Papa Murphy's:

  • Garden Salad (No Cheese)
  • Italian Salad (No Cheese)
  • Caesar Salad (No Cheese)
  • Mediterranean Salad (No Feta/Cheese)
While that sounds all well and good none of their salad dressings are Vegan. While some people have said that their thousand island dressing is vegan it’s most definitely not as it contains eggs. Maybe some locations have different ones, but the numerous ones I checked and Papa Murphy’s Corporate claimed it contained egg-yolk.

Vegan Desserts & Sides at Papa Murphy's:

  • Cheesy Bread (No Cheese, No garlic-herb spread — replace with olive oil & garlic sauce)

All the other appetizers/sides aren’t able to easily be made vegan, if at all depending on the location, so I’d only feel comfortable recommending the above.

As for the Desserts, the Desserts Papa Murphy’s offers are not vegan and cannot be made vegan without turning them into plain pizza dough.

Frequently Asked Questions

Papa Murphy’s added Violife vegan cheese to some selected locations in the US last year.

The Original Crust and the Thin & Crispy Crust are both vegan, because it does not contain any animal by-products.

Yes, you can make several pizzas vegan at Papa Murphy’s. The Garden Veggie pizza is the easiest because you only need to remove the Mozzarella Cheese from the ingredients list.

Yes, the Olive Oil & Garlic Sauce is vegan at Papa Murphy’s.

No, unfortunately, the gluten-free crust at Papa Murphy’s contains eggs, thus it is not vegan.

Other Articles to Check Out:

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

E471 Chemical Structure

What is E471 and Is It Vegan? (2022)

E471 is a food additive meant to stabilize processed foods and extend shelf-life. While it’s generally sourced from vegetable oils, it can also be sourced

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts