Everything Vegan at Popeyes (2023)

Popeyes doesn’t have many vegan options at all, but they do have a few.

I’d never recommend going here as a vegan though, as almost everything contains animal products, and some quite nasty unexpected ones at that. If you are a non-vegan looking for a vegan family member or friend, thanks for that. But I’ll just tell you right off the bat you should go somewhere else, anywhere else, as pretty much anywhere is better than Popeyes for a Vegan.

When I say almost anywhere is better I mean it, be it their closest competitor, KFC, which has numerous more vegan options than Popeyes, albeit nothing really that could constitute a meal. But I mean Popeyes isn’t really worse than some of the other competitors like Bojangles, which has about as many vegan options as Popeyes.

Table of Contents

Popeyes Vegan Menu Options:

  • Corn on the Cob (Without Butter)
  • Baguette (not at most locations)
  • Grits (made with water, check)
  • Apple Sauce
  • Juice/Black-Coffee/Sodas

Aaaand that’s it, everything else on their menu contains either dairy/egg allergies (and thus aren’t vegan) or contain cholesterol according to their nutrition menu, meaning they are not vegan as plants do not contain any cholesterol. The cholesterol in the other products, such as their fries, comes from using pig-lard as their “oil” source for frying and various products.

To clarify: Some people have claimed the Cajun Fries, Cajun Rice, and Red Beans & Rice are vegan, and they aren’t. Neither are the Hashbrowns, as they all contain cholesterol and still had pig lard added to them (or they’re fried in it), and thus aren’t vegan.

The above-listed products are the only vegan products they carry short of condiments like Ketchup as of Mid-2019, if this does change and some news comes out please use our contact form to let us know, but judging by Popeyes behavior and lack of regard for even vegetarians, I suspect we won’t be getting any good news from them anytime soon.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.