Everything Vegan at Wendy’s (2023)

Wendy’s has quite a few great vegan options, including some salads, some great starchy sides, and of course some junk-food. They’ve yet to release a vegan burger though. Rumor has it that they’ll introduce one soon though!

But at this time that’s just speculation. There’s no Vegan burger at Wendy’s currently and there’s no release date for one to come out.  Even in 2022, as many other burger chains like Burger King has came out with vegan-friendly options Wendy’s still has quite little, and no veggie burger option at all.

Hopefully if they do come out with it they also make a Vegan Frosty made out of Almond or Soy milk, but I doubt that’ll happen…at least yet, but that’d be a dream come true.

Vegan Sides at Wendy’s:

/*! elementor – v3.6.3 – 12-04-2022 */
.elementor-widget-image{text-align:center}.elementor-widget-image a{display:inline-block}.elementor-widget-image a img[src$=”.svg”]{width:48px}.elementor-widget-image img{vertical-align:middle;display:inline-block}

wendys vegan
  • Baked Potato with Chives
  • Plain Baked Potato
  • Wendy’s Natural-Cut Fries
  • Garden Side Salad (No Croutons – Select a Vegan Dressing below)
  • Apple Slices
  • Mixed Berry Fruit Cup
  • Salsa & Chips (Not on the menu, but available)
  • Seasoned Breakfast Potatoes

Your best bet, if you’re eating at Wendy’s, is to get a couple baked potatoes and a salad, which isn’t great by any means, but it’s not worse than many other “Burger” places in America. The only other Chain restaurants that are like Wendy’s that have more vegan-friendly options is Burger King and White Castle.

Vegan Salad Options at Wendy’s:

  • Garden Side Salad (No Croutons)
  • Berry Burst Chicken Salad (No Cheese or Feta, No Chicken)
  • Southwest Avocado Chicken Salad (No Chicken, Bacon, cheese, swap dressing)
  • Apple Pecan Chicken Salad (No Cheese, Chicken, or Pecans)
  • Fat Free French
  • Italian Vinaigrette
  • Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Pomegranate Vinaigrette
  • Red Italian dressing
  • Light Spicy Asian Chili Vinaigrette

Not all Salad dressing will be available at every location and they change quite frequently, but generally all the vinaigrette dressings are vegan. They should have ingredient lists on them for you to check specifically if it’s not listed above.

Other Vegan Things at Wendy’s:

  • Veggie (no meat) sandwich
  • Buns
  • Vegetables

That’s pretty much it other than ketchup and obviously vegan condiments and sodas. You can stuff fries in the “veggie sandwich,” but unless you’re craving a “wendy flavored” sandwich I’d give this a pass. It’s not very satisfying in my opinion and usually ends in regret that you didn’t just get a baked potato instead.

That’s all that’s vegan at Wendy’s though, their bread (buns) are vegan as mentioned above, but also mentioned above they have yet to launch a vegan burger or vegan frosty. Wendy’s did at one point trial a black-bean burger, but eventually they pulled it from all locations so it’s not an option anymore.

Are Wendy’s Fries Vegan?

Wendy’s doesn’t use animal-lard to fry their french fries like many “burger” restaurants do, so their fries are in fact Vegan. They are fried in common fryers, but that doesn’t contribute to animal exploitation so that doesn’t make them non-vegan.

Are Wendy’s Frosty’s Vegan?

Unfortunately as covered above Wendy’s frosty’s are not vegan-friendly as they contain dairy and they’ve yet to introduce a plant-based milk version of them currently.

Frequently Asked Questions

No, and the Veggie Stack sandwich  is also a no-go for us vegans, because it contains asteurised EGG Yolk.

Wendy’s has quite a few great vegan options, including some salads, some great starchy sides, and of course some junk-food.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.