Everything Vegan at Carls Jr. (2023)

Carls Jr has come a long way, they used to have nothing but some sides for us vegans, as they always had milk in their veggie patties — But things have changed a lot sense then.

They introduced the beyond Famous Star burger on January 2nd 2019 and as it’s made with Beyond Meat patties it’s 100% Vegan so long as you order it without cheese or mayo — they even have that special “carls jr” flavor to them. Here are Carl’s Jrs Beyond Meat FAQ.

Before I get into what exactly they have, I just want to acknowledge Carls Jr as I believe the first national chain (fast-food) restaurant in the USA to have a Vegan Burger. Great job lads!

Vegan Entrees at Carls Jr:

  • Beyond Famous Star (No Mayo, No Cheese)

You can also get the “Guacamole Thickburger” without Santa Fe Sauce, without cheese, and on a seeded or “plain bun,” but that’s a lot of modifications to just get a vegetable-sandwich when there’s already a vegan patty on the menu.

Vegan Sides at Carls Jr:

  • French Fries
  • Crisscut Waffle Fries
  • Chips & Guacamole
  • Hash Rounds

As many folks have asked, I just want to reaffirm that that’s all the Vegan options they have in terms of sides. The Fried Zucchini has battering that contains milk, so they aren’t Vegan. Their Onion Rings are also non-vegan as they also contain milk.

Vegan Breads/Buns at Carls Jr:

  • Flour Tortilla
  • Seeded Bun
  • Plain Bun

Their “Fresh Baked Bun” typically contains dairy, and their Honey-wheat bun does in-fact contain honey, so it’s not vegan.

Their Biscuits also aren’t vegan as they contain milk.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.