White Castle Vegan Options (2022)

Table of Contents

white castle vegan logo

Visiting a fast-food chain like White Castle can be challenging for plant-based eaters. It is easier when you have an updated list of tasty vegan-friendly options. Whether you live near one of the nearly 400 White Castle locations or you are just passing through, there are plenty of vegan menu items.

White Castle is known for its delicious sliders and other classic fast-food items. In 2018 they added impossible sliders to the menu. This vegan menu item has been around for a few years now, but many people are still unaware that it exists. Everyone knows about the Impossible Whopper at Burger King, but many people still do not know about the impossible meat option available at White Castle. They have a few other options as well.

Let’s explore the White Castle vegan options, including a White Castle vegan burger (slider) and more

It is worth noting that they do not offer normal-sized juicy White Castle vegan burger options. Instead, they love a good slider and have added two tasty vegan sliders to the mix. You can take your pick. White Castle also offers limited vegan-friendly sides. These include the classics, like crinkle-cut french fries, as well as unique side options like fried pickles.

The regular menu at White Castle is already pretty limited. When it comes to vegan menu items, the list gets much smaller. Keep reading to find out what is vegan at White Castle.

White Castle Vegan Main Course Options

 

  • Veggie Slider (no ranch or honey mustard)
  • Impossible Slider (no cheese)

 

White Castle used to offer a third vegan burger option. This option was a tasty Black Bean Slider. Although these are currently discontinued, they may return to the menu someday. They have brought them back in the past for a limited time. With a few quick fixes, vegan eaters can enjoy two other plant-based slider options at White Castle instead. They both already come on dairy-free buns.

The Veggie Sliders come with a veggie patty created by Dr. Praeger’s Sensible Foods. As with their other burger patties, these sliders include authentic vegetables like peas, zucchini, carrots, broccoli, string beans, and spinach. For the veggie sliders, you will need to request no ranch or honey mustard and instead choose one of the vegan sauces below.

The Impossible Slider comes topped with cheese. You will need to order this item without the cheese to make it vegan. Some White Castle locations have a dairy-free cheese option, so you can always ask. They do not offer a vegan cheese substitution at every location.

White Castle Vegan Sides

  • French Fries
  • Hash Brown Nibblers
  • Sweet Potato Fries (not available everywhere)
  • Fried Pickles (not available everywhere)
  • Mott’s Apple Sauce

 

White Castle does not offer side salads, steamed vegetables, or anything like that. Plant-based eaters who enjoy healthy meals may not be super impressed by the menu. However, if you prefer a classic fast-food meal, there are plenty of options for you.

For breakfast, you should be able to order a side of wheat toast. Typically this bread is used to build non-vegan sandwiches, but most locations have no problem with you ordering plain toasted slices. You can spread strawberry or grape jelly on top or dip it in Mrs. Butterworth’s Syrup.

You might be able to order the onion rings depending on the location you visit. The White Castle onion ring ingredient list is different from region to region. If you are craving onion rings, check with the staff at your location to see if they are vegan-friendly. The onion rings should be milk-free if you live in Chicago, Louisville, or St. Louis. If you live in New York or New Jersey, the onion rings likely have milk in them. When it comes to onion chips, it appears they always contain milk.

White Castle Vegan Sauces

  • Smokey BBQ Sauce
  • Ketchup
  • Yellow Mustard
  • Marinara
  • Hot Sauce
  • Horseradish Mustard (limited locations)
  • Dusseldorf Mustard (limited locations)
  • Everything Sauce (limited locations)
  • Seafood Cocktail Sauce
  • Strawberry Jelly
  • Grape Jelly
  • Butterworth’s Syrup

White Castle Vegan Drinks

  • Coffee (decaf and regular)
  • Hot Tea
  • Iced Unsweetened Tea
  • Southern Sweet Tea
  • Soft Drinks
  • Crave Cooler (Fanta Wild Cherry and Coke)
  • Juice
  • Bottled Beverages
  • Canned Beverages

 

Most of the drinks at White Castle are vegan. Some locations even offer Monster Energy Drinks and Minute Maid Orange Juice. Feel free to enjoy any drinks on this list. Unfortunately, you will have to skip the hot chocolate and shakes for now.

White Castle vegan options might be limited, but there are enough items to create a delicious meal

The sliders, sides, sauces, and drinks listed above are the only vegan options available at White Castle. Although the list might be short, there are plenty of options. Here you are not left to create an unsatisfying meal like a vegetable sandwich. You have your choice of sliders, sides, and sauces, along with plenty of beverages.

White Castle offers a handful of desserts, but at this time, none of them are vegan. Maybe White Castle will create some delicious vegan on-a-stick dessert options in the future. For now, you will have to skip dessert.

White Castle has made it clear they are open to growing their vegan menu. Many customers continue to choose vegan-friendly items instead of the traditional options, so they will happily continue to make innovative changes.

At White Castle, the preparation of non-vegan and vegan-friendly menu items requires the same equipment. That means there is always a risk of cross-contamination. White Castle might not be the best option for people with severe allergies. If you have a dairy allergy or are worried about seafood touching your vegan-friendly order, you might want to avoid this fast-food chain.

If you want to explore the menu further, you can find nutrition information and an ingredient list on the White Castle website.

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

Original Mix Now and Later

Are Now & Laters Vegan? (2022)

Now and Later’s were probably my favorite chewy candy, at least when you get fresh ones. Sadly most that I’ve had were from dollar stores

Arby's Vegan Options Logo

Everything Vegan at Arby’s (2022)

Arby’s isn’t the most vegan-friendly restaurant out there, they’ve made fun of vegans and vegetarians numerous times and “pranked” us many times pretending to add