Is Cream Soda Vegan? (2022)

Table of Contents

Cream Soda IBC Brand

Cream sodas aren’t always vegan, however there are generally a few key ways to know if they are or aren’t vegan. There are also many brands which are vegan such as A&W or Barr. There will be more on specific brands further into the article.

If you’re getting “cream soda” out and about, such as at a restaurant, it’s generally not vegan. This is because at restaurants they’ll usually try to “fancy it up” and use vanilla icecream with regular rootbeer to make cream soda, or they’ll add some to cream soda.

However, if you’re buying it at the grocery store or having it pre-made out of a bottle or can it’s most likely vegan, as putting dairy icecream into a soda…well it doesn’t stay good for very long to say the least.

What Brands of Cream Soda are Vegan?

  • IBC Cream Soda
  • Virgil Cream Soda
  • Mug Cream Soda
  • A&W Cream Soda
  • Barqs Cream Soda
  • Dad’s Cream Soda
  • Zevia Cream Soda
  • Jones Cream Soda
  • Blue Sky Cream Soda

The only brand of cream soda I’ve came across that wasn’t vegan was Sprecher’s Gourmet Cream Soda, which contains honey.

Vegan Cream Soda at a Restaurant?

If you’re at a restaurant just confirm which brand it is or if it’s prepackaged. If it is it should be vegan-friendly unless it’s Sprecher’s brand, which has honey in it. But I’d also confirm it doesn’t come with any icecream, as that seems to be common at least here in the Southern US states.

If they make it their self I’d recommend inquiring about what they use, as it’s not uncommon for homemade cream soda to be made with dairy or egg products.

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

Bojangles Logo Vegan Options

Everything Vegan at Bojangles (2022)

Bojangles is a south-eastern US chain restaurant that’s similar to KFC or Popeyes, and much like them they unfortunately have very few vegan options. To

E476 Chemical Structure

What is E476 and Is it Vegan? (2022)

E476 is a food additive used to make foods/sauces smoother and blend easier. Its scientific name is Polyglycerol polyricinoleate. On its Vegan status it’s pretty

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts