What is E133 (Blue #1) and Is It Vegan? (2023)

E133 is a food additive used to colour various foods and drinks. Generally food colouring agents are vegan, but there exceptions. In the case of E133 however it’s entirely synthetic and vegan.

E133 is often referred to as “Brilliant Blue” because of the, well, brilliant blue color it gives to whatever it’s put in. In North America it’s often called Blue #1.

Table of Contents

Is E133 Safe to Consume?

It’s not highly toxic or anything like that, and is widely accepted around the world as a food-additive that’s safe. There are a few countries that have banned it though, and some people may experience mild allergic reactions to it, so consuming a lot of it is definitely not recommended, however a little in your diet is likely to be non-impactful on your overall health.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.