What Is E224 and Is It Vegan? (2023)

Table of Contents

Potassium metabisulfite (E224) Chemical Structure

E224 is a preservative also known as Potassium Metabisulfite, which is commonly used to preserve various fruits and vegetables. E224 is made entirely using synthetic means, meaning it is always 100% Vegan.

Unlike many of these E-numbers and various food additives, this one doesn’t really have any concerns. It’s completely vegan.  Well, at least regarding its vegan-status. We’ll go over its safety below.


Wait, So What is E224 Made Of?

E224 (Potassium Metabisulfite) is made of Sulfurous Acid, or rather an isolated portion of Sulfurous Acid called Potassium-sodium.

So in plain English: Other Chemical compounds! Beyond that there’s nothing more I can say without being technical/scientific. But there’s nothing really to worry about, which leads me into the next question:

Is E224 (Potassium Metabisulfite) Safe?

While harmful and dangerous in its concentrated form, there’s no evidence it’s harmful when used in the microscopic amounts used to preserve fruits/vegetables or alcohol (beer/wine), which are the only potentially vegan foods it’s likely to be in.

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles


Farmer Boys vegan menu options – 2023

Founded by 5 brothers, Farmer Boys is a family quick-service restaurant chain primarily based in California. As the name suggests, Farmer Boys takes pride in

Panda Express vegan options Logo

Panda Express Vegan Options (2023)

Firts of all, does Panda Express have vegan options at all? Let’s be honest, they used to be extremely bad for vegans with only their

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts