What is Fumaric Acid and Is It Vegan? (2023)

Table of Contents

Fumaric Acid Structure

Fumaric Acid is a food and drug additive that serves many purposes including flavoring, and balancing PH-levels in a product. Fumaric Acid is made from plant-sources, most commonly either done synthetically, or from apples, but also occasionally from other plant-sources.

Since Fumaric Acid is made exclusively from plant sources it is always vegan.

Fumaric Acid has been added to foods for many decades and is entirely safe to consume, as it’s present in many fruits and vegetables naturally and isn’t carcinogenic or anything of the sort.

Why is Fumaric Acid put into foods?

As briefly mentioned above it can be useful for balancing PH levels and changing the flavor slightly.

The benefit of balancing the PH is it can extend the shelf-life of many products drastically. This is because if you change the PH level of a product to a certain level you can make many food-borne illnesses unable to survive. It also has an effect on the flavor of a product, often taking off the bitter touch or “sting” of certain foods. In that case, many times they combinate it with cocoa butter products.

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

Schnitz Vegan Menu Options

Everything Vegan at Schnitz (2023)

Schnitz is an Australian Chain-Restaurant that sells pretty much one thing: Schnitzels. Of course they sell some other things, such as Chips, Rolls, Wraps, and

Cheez Its Vegan Alternatives

Are Cheez-Its 100% Vegan? (2023)

Cheez-It’s currently come in 6 different varieties (types) and a total of 21 different flavors, which is actually quite staggering to me. I didn’t know

Are Antibiotics Vegan

Are Antibiotics 100% Vegan? (2023)

While the question is pretty clear and simple the answer is not so simple. Antibiotics are sort of vegan, sort of not vegan, but ultimately

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts