What Is Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate and Is It Vegan? (2023)

Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate is a food additive that’s primarily used in processed foods to extend their shelf life. In most cases it’s vegan, but it can also be non-vegan depending on its source.

The reason it can be non-vegan as well as vegan is because it’s made from/with Stearic Acid, which can either be vegan or non-vegan. Since Stearic Acid can be Vegan or Non-vegan as outlined in the linked article above, it’s hard to know if the Sodium Stearyol Lactylate used Vegan or Non-Vegan Stearic Acid.

So Is Sodium Stearoyl Vegan?

There’s no way to know for sure, however it’s more likely it is than it isn’t.

You can’t really figure out for-sure as the supply chain is too complicated to go back and figure out if the Stearic Acid was Vegan or not. Because if you did that, you’d first need to find out where the product’s manufacturer got their sodium stearyol lactylate, and generally they’ll be buying from many sources and not know what source was used for what products.

Should You Avoid Sodium Stearyol Lactylate Then?

I’d say it’s reasonable to try to avoid it, but I would say you shouldn’t stress about if a bread from a restaurant, a friend, a family member, whatever it may be like that, contains it. Veganism is about reducing harm and exploitation of animals in a practical way.

Personally, I do not believe it’s practical or reasonable, nor beneficial for the movement or the animals, to nit-pick over maybe vegan maybe non-vegan ingredients in something you’re getting from someone else.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.