What Brands & Types of Animal Crackers are Vegan? (2023)

Animal Crackers where always one of my favorite snacks, along with Goldfish Crackers.

Unfortuantely Goldfish crackers aren’t really vegan-friendly, so that childhood snack is out of the question. Fortunately, Animal Crackers are almost always vegan, with most brands being 100% Vegan.

While Animal Crackers are normally vegan there are a few brands to avoid, such as Austin’s Zoo Animal Crackers which contain milk. Those brands are rare, but another thing you need to watch out for are frosted animal crackers, as most frosted animal crackers contain gelatin in the frosting, which isn’t vegan at all.

So What Animal Crackers are Vegan?

vegan animal crackers
  • Trader Joe’s Organic Animal Crackers (Both Chocolate and Original)
  • Barnum’s Animal Crackers (Original)
  • Costco’s Kirkland Brand Animal Crackers (Original)
  • Stauffer’s Iced Animal Crackers (Frosted)
  • Annie’s Homegrown Organic Animal Cookies (Original)
  • Stauffer’s Animal Crackers (Original & Chocolate)

Those are all the big-branded and widely available animal cracker brands. You can find at least one of them at pretty much any grocery store you go to in the USA or Canada, abroad may be a little trickier, you may have to resort to buying them online.

As for a couple popular brands that are non-vegan, Keebler’s Animal Crackers aren’t vegan, and neither are Austin’s “Zoo Animal Crackers.” Glutino Animal Crackers are also Non-vegan.

The only frosted animal crackers that I know of that are vegan are Stauffer’s Iced Animal Crackers, and they can be found in most grocery stores if you want to give them a shot. They’re also available online.

What about a brand that’s not listed above?

If the brand you’re considering buying or have isn’t above then it must not be a super popular one, but no worries, you can do the leg-work and figure out of it’s vegan yourself.

Simply go to the ingredients and check for things like whey, eggs, honey, or milk, and make sure the allergy list doesn’t say it contains any of the above. If it passes that test it’s most likely vegan.

I can’t guarantee you that it is vegan though, as some companies do strange things. You’d have to contact the manufacturer to figure out for sure whether or not it’s vegan, but if it doesn’t contain the above ingredients or have any allergy warnings regarding them then it most likely is vegan-friendly.

Frequently Asked Questions

Animal Crackers are normally vegan but there are a few brands to avoid (like the Austin’s Zoo Animal Crackers which contain milk). Also keep in mind, that most frosted animal crackers contain gelatin, which makes them non-vegan.

Unfortunately, the Austin Animal Crackers contain milk, which makes them non-vegan.

Yep, these tasty crackers are free from animal by-products, so they are vegan.

Mostly, Frosted Animal Crackers contain gelatin, which makes them non-vegan. The only vegan frosted ones that we know of are the Stauffer’s Iced Animal Crackers. Always check the label!

Nope. They list whey and confectioner’s glaze on their ingredients list, thus they are not vegan-friendly.

The Original Costco’s Kirkland Brand Animal Crackers are free of animal products. thus they are safe for us vegans. 

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.