Are Clif Bars Vegan? [Every Vegan flavors in 2022]

Table of Contents

Clif Bar Vegan and Non-vegan Flavors

Clif Bars come in many many different flavors, the vast majority of which are vegan. There are a few flavors that have some pesky animal products in them though.

We’ll go over the Original Classic Clif Bars as well as their nut-butter filled, fruit-smoothie filled, their “Whole Lotta” bars, and both of their protein bar types. The only bars we won’t be covering is the Luna bars and the Z-bars, as while they’re made by the same company they’re branded differently.

As mentioned before almost all of them are vegan, but there’s a few that contain dairy products and one that contains honey.

Original Classic Vegan Clif Bar Flavors:

  • Spiced Pumpkin Pie
  • Iced Gingerbread
  • Caramel Toffee
  • Chocolate Chunk
  • Dark Chocolate Almond
  • Chocolate Chip
  • Chocolate Chip Minis
  • White Chocolate Macadamia Nut
  • White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Minis
  • Chocolate Brownie
  • Chocolate Brownie Minis
  • Cool Mint Chocolate
  • Crunchy Peanut Butter
  • Crunchy Peanut Butter Minis
  • Blueberry Crisp
  • Peanut Butter Banana
  • Chocolate Chip Peanut Crunch
  • Oatmeal Raisin Walnut
  • Peanut Toffee Buzz
  • Berry Pomegranate Chia
  • Nuts & Seeds
  • Sierra Trail Mix
  • Coconut Chocolate Chip
  • Carrot Cake
  • Chocolate Almond Fudge
  • Apricot

The only non-vegan flavor of the Original Clif Bars appears to be the obvious one: Peanut Butter & Honey, because of the honey.  All the other classic Clif bars seem to be 100% vegan.

While in the past mini version of Clif Bars weren’t vegan they now appear to be vegan as well, with no animal ingredients appearing on their label whatsoever. Another small victory!

Nut-Butter Filled Vegan Clif Bar Flavors:

  • Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Peanut Butter
  • Chocolate Hazelnut Butter
  • Caramel Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Blueberry Almond Butter
  • Coconut Almond Butter
  • Banana Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Maple Almond Butter

From the looks of it all the Nut-Butter filled Clif bars are 100% Vegan!

are clif bars vegan

Fruit-Filled Vegan Clif Bar Flavors:

  • Strawberry Banana
  • Tart Cherry Berry
  • Wild Blueberry Acai

Just as with the nut-filled Clif bars these Fruit-filled ones are 100% Vegan. They don’t even sell non-vegan ones, woohoo!

Whole Lotta Vegan Clif Bar Flavors:

  • Spiced Almond Ginger
  • Roasted Peanut Chocolate
  • Tart Cherry Almond
  • Salted Dark Chocolate

The “Whole Lotta” Clif Bars are a new thing and they are absolutely packed with nuts, seeds and healthy sweeteners like dates, and to top it all off they’re all vegan as well.

Vegan Clif Protein Bar Flavors:

Clif has two different varieties of Protein bars, one which has varied colors and is called the “Builders bars” and one which has a blue sky packaging and is called their “whey protein bars.”

If you’ve been vegan a while you’ll probably know where I’m going with this, and that’s that one of their lines, the whey line, is completely non-vegan. This is because it uses a protein sourced from dairy (whey).

As for the builder’s bars, these are the vegan flavors:

  • Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • Chocolate Mint
  • Vanilla Almond
  • Chocolate
  • Cinnamon Nut Swirl
  • Crunchy Peanut Butter
  • Cookies N Cream
None of the builder’s bars are currently non-vegan, which makes things really easy. It’s a shame they make a non-vegan whey protein bar line as well seeing as they have these perfectly good vegan protein bars.

Frequently Asked Questions

According to Clif Bar’s website, almost all of their products are plant based. The only exceptions are the following items: CLIF Whey Protein, LUNA Protein, Zbar Protein and CLIF Recovery Protein Drink Mix and CLIF Bar Peanut Butter & Honey w/ Sea Salt.

All of the classic bars except the Peanut Butter & Honey bar are vegan friendly, including the chocolate chip clif bar.

The name may confuse you. Most people associate whey protein bars with whey protein. However clif builder’s bars only contain plant based protein, mostly soy protein.

Yes, they are vegan friendly, however they contain palm oil.

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

San Pallegrino Vegan Sparkling Soda

Is San Pellegrino 100% Vegan? (2022)

San Pellegrino is a Carbonated Sparkling Beverage or Soda that’s not like any other in my opinion, with a unique “freshness” that other carbonated drinks

Pick Up Stix Vegan Menu Options Logo

Everything Vegan at Pick Up Stix (2022)

Pick Up Stix has plenty of good quality vegan options, including some appetizers, curries, rice-dishes, and of course Salads with vegan-friendly dressings. Really I’d say