Is Pasta Vegan? Navigating the Pasta Aisle for Ethical Eaters

In the last few years, veganism has drastically increased as more and more people are becoming aware of the negative consequences associated with the meat and dairy industries.

Choosing a vegan lifestyle means avoiding all products that have been made by exploiting animals, such as meat, fish, milk, but also cotton, wool, cosmetics tested on animals, and more. This is why people adopting this diet often have to double-check whether the items they purchase at the supermarket are suitable for their lifestyle. 

In this article, we decided to make their life a bit easier by discussing one of the most important questions: Is Pasta Vegan? We will analyze all the ingredients in this popular dish, check plant-based alternatives, and also give you some delicious vegan recipes to try at home! 

Is it Vegan or not?

Fresh Pasta is usually non-vegan, while Dry Pasta is mostly vegan

Pasta is one of the most famous dishes of the Italian tradition with most locals eating this dish almost every day. There are several types of pasta, however, the main two are fresh pasta and dry pasta.

The former is often hand-made and should be consumed within two to three days. Unfortunately, fresh pasta is made with flour and eggs and is therefore not suitable for vegans.

Dry pasta on the other hand can be stored for years and is made from water and semolina, a type of flour produced from durum wheat, meaning that it is fully vegan. Despite this, it is important to keep in mind that, at times, dry pasta can contain eggs even though this is not the norm. In any case, always make sure to double-check the labels of your package. 

Lastly, you should consider pasta such as ravioli, which are filled up with all sorts of ingredients which may include meat or cheese. Whenever buying ravioli make sure to always double-check the label and see what ingredients have been used as fillings, as these are rarely vegan. 

How to Spot Non-Vegan Pasta

Your first step in recognizing non-vegan pasta should be checking the label. As we mentioned earlier, the most common ingredient you should watch out for is egg. However, this is not the only one. You should also pay attention to artificial colors and flavors, as there is no way to know whether these are fully plant-based or not. For instance, the artificial color red 40, is routinely tested on animals and this is why vegans tend to avoid it.

Always double-check noodles packaging as pre-cooked ones often contain non-vegan ingredients.

Vegan Pasta Options

Plenty of pasta brands on the market are vegan, such as most Barilla, De Cecco, and Voiello products. But of course, these are not your only options.

There are so many different types of pasta out there to try out. From chickpeas pasta to lentil pasta, quinoa pasta, edamame pasta, your options are endless. These are often vegan, but, just to be sure, we always recommend you check your labels as every brand tends to add different ingredients to their product.

You can buy these types of pasta from brands such as Tolerant Organic, Barilla, and Explore Cuisine.

Nutritional Value

Compared to traditional pasta, alternatives such as lentil and chickpea pasta tend to have slightly fewer calories. On top of these, they can also have a higher percentage of proteins. While normal dry pasta only has 7 gr. of proteins per 100 gr., edamame pasta contains up to 24 gr., while lentil pasta has 13 gr.

Make Your Own Vegan Pasta

Pasta is a great ingredient for vegans, as you can create all sorts of dishes with it. For instance, you can make an amazing tomato sauce by choosing different types of tomatoes, such as cherry tomatoes, Roma tomatoes, or Brandywine, and cooking them slowly with a finely chopped onion. Alternatively, you can serve your pasta with hummus and fresh cherry tomatoes. Last but not least, you can create a delicious sauce by cooking a medium-sized pumpkin in the oven and blending it with some thyme and olive oil. Serve your pumpkin pasta with some cooked mushrooms for the perfect fall dish! 

Dining Out tips

When dining out, especially in a foreign country, asking for vegan options can at times be intimidating. But this should never be the case with pasta. Most pasta varieties are vegan so unless the restaurants you choose only serve fresh pasta you will most likely be able to order a delicious dish. 

To sum it up

So, here we are! Hopefully, by now, you have a better idea of the vegan status of pasta and how to cook amazing dishes that will shock vegans and non-vegans alike with their amazing flavors. To summarize once again: dry pasta is mostly vegan while fresh one contains eggs. Regardless of the product you choose, make sure to always check the label and watch out for ingredients such as eggs, and artificial colors and flavors.

Lastly, always remember to make ethical choices. Opting for a plant-based diet doesn’t mean restricting your options, but choosing alternatives that will not only benefit your health but also our planet and all its inhabitants.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Barilla pasta vegan?

Most Barilla pasta is vegan except for Barilla tortellini.

Is dry pasta vegan?

Most dry pasta brands are vegan. This product is made with semolina and water, however, some companies choose to add ingredients such as eggs, artificial flavors and colorant, so always make sure to double-check the label.

Is chickpea pasta vegan?

Most chickpea pasta is vegan, but always make sure to double-check the label as some brands tend to add non-vegan ingredients to add flavors.

Is gluten-free pasta vegan?

This depends on the brand you choose from. Some gluten-free pasta may contain eggs so make sure to read your label.

Is whole wheat pasta vegan?

If your pasta is 100% whole wheat then yes, it’s vegan. Otherwise, check the ingredients.

Is Aldi pasta vegan?

This truly depends on the brands. Some are, others aren’t. Check the labels!

Is angel hair pasta vegan?

If it’s dry pasta then there is a good chance it will be vegan, such as Barilla Capellini (angel hair pasta). However, if it’s fresh pasta it won’t be vegan.



Cristina is a journalist and traveler with a passion for nutritious and cruelty-free food.

She is now exploring the four corners of the world trying delicious recipes while getting acquainted with the local cultures she meets on the way.

Apart from traveling and cooking, Cristina loves dystopian novels, hot mugs of tea, and jazz.