Are Dum Dums Vegan? (2022)

Table of Contents

Vegan Dum Dums

Dum Dums are one of my favorite candies and one I nearly always have some of. They’re low in calories, have very simple ingredients, kids love them, they’re a good size, and they aren’t sticky or messy. Dum Dums are one of my go-to’s when it comes to Halloween candy as they are super cheap and you can give oodles of them, they’re completely allergy free, vegan, and few people give them out so they’re something unique in kiddos Halloween bounty that gives some variety.

Dum Dum, of all sorts, are always vegan. So long as you’re getting real dum-dum brand dum-dums (ones manufactured by Spangler, check the back of the package) they’ll be vegan. They don’t contain any non-vegan coloring like Carmine or anything of the sort. But there has been history of certain food coloring categories that have tested on animals but there has not been any published testing within the past couple years.

As for off-brands, they’re generally vegan too as they do their best to copy the original Dum-dums. I’ve never found ones that aren’t vegan or heard of ones that aren’t, but if you want to be sure check the ingredients for Carmine and/or Carminic acid as that’s the only non-vegan ingredient that’d be in a dum-dum type lollipop. 

The Ingredients in  original Dum Dum’s are: Sugar, Corn Syrup, Citric Acid, Malic Acid, Artificial Flavor, Color Added, (Includes: Red 40, Yellow 6, Yellow 5, Blue 1)

Where Can you buy Dum-Dums?

You can find Dum-Dums at almost any store so it shouldn’t be hard to find them. They’re also commonly found at dollar stores, and I must say they’re just as good from there as regular stores.

You can also buy them online at Amazon by clicking here which to my shock isn’t actually any more expensive than in person, at least compared to the stores in my area.

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

vegan cereal

Vegan cereal guide (2022)

There are plenty of healthy plant-based breakfasts, but sometimes all you want is a bowl of cereal.  Maybe you switched your regular milk to plant-based