What Hershey’s Syrups are Vegan? (2023)

Hershey’s Chocolate Syrup is hands down the most popular chocolate & Syrup brand in North America.

While their chocolates are normally non-vegan, most of their syrups, including their chocolate syrup, are vegan.

Unfortunately for my mother, who absolutely adores Carmel, all of their Carmel Syrups and Spreads contain dairy and thus aren’t Vegan.

So if you’re into Carmel, you may be out of luck, but Hershey’s does have plenty of vegan Syrups and Toppings to choose from.

So what are all the Vegan Syrups & Toppings?

  • Sugar-Free Strawberry Flavored Syrup
  • Hershey’s Sundae Dream Double Chocolate Syrup
  • Sugar-Free Chocolate Flavored Syrup
  • Hershey’s Simply 5 Ingredient Chocolate Syrup
  • Hershey’s Chocolate Lite Calorie/Sugar Syrup
  • Strawberry Flavored Syrup
  • Hershey’s Special Dark Chocolate Syrup
  • Hershey’s Classic Chocolate Syrup

The Non-vegan Syrups and Toppings Hershey’s makes and sells is: Carmel Sundae Dream Syrup, Classic Carmel Syrup, Milk Chocolate Shell Topping, Hershey’s Hot Fudge Topping, Special Dark Topping, and Carmel Topping.

Some Other Vegan Alternatives to Hershey’s:

If you want to mix it up there’s plenty of other vegan-friendly chocolate syrups out there, pretty much all chocolate syrups are vegan-friendly but make sure to check for milk/whey as they’re the most common offenders that make an otherwise vegan syrup non-vegan.

If you are bored of Hershey’s you can try Nesquik’s chocolate syrup or Ghirardelli Chocolate Sauce, both are quite easy to find both online and in grocery stores and they’re quite good, albeit different than Hershey’s. Ghirardelli Chocolate Sauce is a bit less sweet and more chocolatey, and nesquik’s is a bit more…fake, but has less ‘wood’ taste than hershey’s if you know what I mean.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.