The Best 15 Vegan options at Cold Stone (2023)

Fact-checked badge

Cold Stone Vegan Options

Cold Stone Creamery is one of if not the most popular ice cream chain’s in North America and sell a wide variety of flavors, but are any of their ice creams vegan?

While all of the ice cream’s at Cold Stone Creamery contain milk, and thus aren’t vegan-friendly, Cold Stone has many vegan-friendly Sorbets and toppings to choose from.

Keep in mind that while Cold Stone has many vegan-friendly Sorbets not all of them will be available at any given time — Generally only a few will be available at each location.

Let’s see what Cold Stone offers for us!


Vegan-Friendly Silk Almondmilk and Sorbet Flavors at Cold Stone:

  • Silk Chocolate Almondmilk
  • Pink lemonade
  • Strawberry
  • Orange
  • Peach mango
  • Pineapple
  • Pineapple Orange banana
  • Raspberry
  • Strawberry
  • Strawberry Lemonade
  • Strawberry Mango Banana
  • Watermelon
  • Lemon
  • Mojito

All the above Sorbet Flavors Cold Stone currently offers only contain vegan-friendly ingredients such as sugar, corn starch, dyes, and basic preservatives and flavor enhancers like Citric Acid — Nothing gross and non-vegan. Keep in mind they’ll generally only have a couple of the above-mentioned flavors on offer at any given time — regardless they’re all pretty okay.

A bejegyzés megtekintése az Instagramon

Jess Clark (@jay_did118) által megosztott bejegyzés

Vegan-Friendly Toppings at Cold Stone:

Since there’s so many toppings we’ll break them into sections, starting with the healthier fruit-stuffs and nuts and ending with the, well, junkier foods like Oreo’s.


  • Apple Pie Filling
  • Bananas
  • Black Cherries
  • Blackberries
  • Blueberries
  • Cinnamon
  • Coconut
  • Cherry Pie Filling
  • Maraschino Cherries
  • Peach Pie Filling
  • Pineapple Tidbits
  • Raisins
  • Raspberries
  • Strawberries

Healthy Toppings (Nuts):

  • Cashews
  • Macadamia
  • Peanuts
  • Pecans
  • Pistachios
  • Roasted Almonds
  • Sliced Almonds
  • Walnuts
  • Cinnamon Seasoning
  • Coconut Garnish

Junk Vegan Mix ins:

  • Golden Oreo Crumbles
  • Pretzels
  • Sprinkles
  • Regular Oreo Crumbles
  • Chocolate Syrup (not all locations)
  • Mango Juice/Syrup (Not all locations)

Some people have said their gummies are vegan-friendly, and some other “junky” candy toppings, but they aren’t actually vegan due to containing Gelatin.

Cold Stone creations

Good news, You can make your own 100 percent vegan Cold Stone creations! Although the ice cream flavors are quite limited, still you can always choose Silk Chocolate Almondmilk Frozen Dessert or any sorbet.  Coupled with the various mix ins (listed above), you can make a marvelous vegan ice cream creation. In the end, only the sugar cone is available for us now.

Besides, you can go along with a premade creation. At the moment, the Don’t Cry Over Spilled Silk creation is the only one that is totally plant-based. It comes with Silk Chocolate Almondmilk Frozen Dessert, Banana, Peanut Butter, and Roasted Almonds.

How it is made? Check out Cold Stone’s video!

Other Vegan-Friendly Items at Cold Stone:

  • Sugar Cone
  • Shakes

The Chocolate Silk Shake is the only shake that is free from animal products. 

Unfortunately that’s all else they have plant-based — Cold Stone’s Cakes, Cupcakes, sundaes, Cookie Sanwiches, and other special items all contain milk and/or eggs, and thus are not vegan-friendly at all.

Cold Stone’s waffle cones also contain dairy — so make sure to avoid them. If you’re really wanting a vegan-friendly waffle cone opt for Sweet Frog instead of Cold Stone if there’s one in your area as they have vegan waffle cones — or alternatively just buy some online at Amazon. Some Grocery stores also sell them as well.

Fact-checked for vegan
chocolate silk shake vegan option cold stone


The major ice cream chain in essence

There is only one item that is made exclusively for vegans but overall it is pretty good. There is plenty of accidentally vegan sorbet. Moreover, you can choose from a huge selection of vegan-friendly toppings. Unfortunately, beyond this, there is nothing much that Cold Stone can offer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes, It does! You can choose from countless flavors of sorbets and thousands of delicious plant-based toppings. This year, the popular North American ice cream company launched its first vegan ice cream in cooperation with Danone North America. You can read more about it below!

Great news, It has since January of 2022 when the “Silk’s Chocolate Almondmilk Frozen Dessert”, “Cold Stone Creation” and “Don’t Cry Over Spilled Silk” was added to the menu. That means now we can mix together various ingredients – for example, toasted coconut or peanut butter –  to create a delicious and totally plant-based treat! 

Generally, the sorbet is vegan. Luckily, Cold Stone’s sorbet is not an exception, therefore most of its flavors are free from animal ingredients. In addition, you can choose vegan topping as well. However, the available selections may vary by location.

Unfortunately, It isn’t dairy free hence It isn’t vegan friendly.

Sadly, They aren’t due all of them contain dairy and they cannot exclude it.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.