What is E476 and Is it Vegan? (2023)

E476 is a food additive used to make foods/sauces smoother and blend easier. Its scientific name is Polyglycerol polyricinoleate. On its Vegan status it’s pretty much always vegan.

Generally it’s safe to assume E476 is Vegan, as it’s essentially always made from either soybean oil or castor oil, however technically it can be derived from animal sources/fats. In practice while E476 (Polyglycerol polyricinoleate) can be made from animal tallow (fat) if it’s not made from one of the two plant-based ingredients mentioned above it’s generally made with Palm Oil.

In other words, if you’re vegan I don’t believe this is an ingredient that should be of concern, as while it technically can be made in a non-vegan way I honestly cannot find a production facility that makes E476 that uses animal products in its production.

Is E476 (Polyglycerol polyricinoleate) Vegetarian?

Just to confirm for all you vegetarian folks who happen to come to this page, yes everything vegan is vegetarian. So since E476 is basically always Vegan it should basically always be Vegetarian as well — this also applies to it being halal, anything vegan is halal-friendly.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.