Whether you like to dip juicy strawberries in it, eat it warm mixed with milk in a cozy mug, or simply treat yourself to a little square after your meal, chocolate never disappoints. But is white chocolate vegan?
In this article, we will discuss white chocolate and establish whether this popular product is suitable for a plant-based diet. We will analyze its main ingredients, check out its manufacturing process, and help you make an informed choice the next time you decide to buy this item.
Table of Contents
Let’s start from the beginning! What is veganism and why is it so important? Veganism is a lifestyle that aims to reduce animal suffering in all its forms. People adhering to it avoid all animal products and items that have contributed to animal exploitation. Vegans only eat ingredients that are one hundred percent plant-based and keep away from cosmetics tested on animals and other products such as wool and leather.
Veganism is not only beneficial for all the animals living on our planet but also contributes to the reduction of CO2 emissions, having a positive impact on our environment.
What is White Chocolate and Is it Vegan?
White chocolate is a type of chocolate typically made from sugar, milk, and cocoa butter. It is known for its creamy texture and sweet taste which makes it popular among kids and adults alike.
But is white chocolate vegan? Unfortunately, the answer is no. One of the key ingredients in white chocolate is milk, which is dairy. On top of this, the sugar present in white chocolate may not be fully plant-based. This is because white sugar is often bleached using bone char, a material produced by charring animals’ bones. Unfortunately, unless specified, there is no way of knowing whether the sugar present in your chocolate bar was made using bone char or not.
What makes it non-vegan?
Hidden animals products
Apart from milk and sugar, there are other ingredients you should watch out for, such as artificial flavors and colors, emulsifiers, and additives. As for sugar, it is incredibly hard to figure out whether these are vegans or not and oftentimes, even contacting the manufacturing company won’t give you a straight answer on the issue.
But how is white chocolate produced? Making white chocolate is quite easy. Manufacturing industries and chocolate makers alike simply have to mix cocoa butter, milk, and sugar together. Some also add other ingredients such as vanilla extract to give it that extra flavor.
Of course, this leads us to the next question, ‘How is cacao butter made?’ This is a slightly more complicated process, but still easy to understand.
- First of all, beans are harvested from the pods, cleaned, and roasted.
- The next step is to take away the shells and crush the seeds into ribs.
- These are then blended to form a liquid known as cocoa liquor.
- Lastly, the coca liquor is pressed to separate the fat parts also known as cocoa butter!
Look for these Vegan Labels and Certifications
Even though traditionally white chocolate is not vegan, we have good news for you. Nowadays there are plenty of brands creating vegan alternatives suitable for all plant-based diets. When in doubt, always look for vegan certifications and labels such as the ‘AVA certified vegan’ sign, the ‘Beveg’ one, and the ‘Vegan Society’ logo. If you find one of these on your products, you can be one hundred percent sure that that item is fully suitable for vegans.
Dairy-free, vegan alternatives
So, what are some of the best vegan white chocolate brands on the market? Here is our list.
Vego White Almond Bliss: made with organic cocoa butter and delicious almonds, this chocolate bar is fully vegan and dairy-free.
iChoc White Vanilla: made with bourbon vanilla from Madagascar, you should definitely try this brand out if you love white chocolate.
Dee Best White Chocolate Chips: the best white chocolate chips on the market.
The Ethical Choice
More and more people every day are now opting for a vegan lifestyle. Not by chance, an article by the Guardian states that research demonstrated how this diet results in 75% less climate-heating emissions, water pollution, and land use compared to diets in which an average of 100 gr of meat is consumed every day.
The same article also mentions how veganism is extremely beneficial for animals as it cuts the destruction of wildlife by 66%.
Nowadays, it is fundamental for all of us to make a stand and decide whether we want to use our lives to bring real change in the world. Reading labels and trying to prioritize vegan and plant-based products when possible can make a massive difference.
To Sum it Up
So, now you know. Traditional white chocolate is NOT vegan, as it contains ingredients such as milk, milk powder, and sugar. But there is no reason to despair. Plenty of vegan brands are now producing delicious vegan white chocolate bars that will not only satisfy your taste buds but also bring benefits to our beloved animals and the environment. So, always make informed choices and do your best to opt for the vegan label at the store.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is there dairy in white chocolate?
Yes, traditional white chocolate is made from milk.
Is Callebaut white chocolate vegan?
Unfortunately not. Callebaut white chocolate is made from milk powder, which is not vegan.
Is Clif white chocolate macadamia vegan?
Yes, Clif white chocolate is vegan. However, its packaging states that ‘It may contain milk’.
Is Ghirardelli white chocolate vegan?
Unfortunately not. Ghirardelli white chocolate contains milk powder, which is not vegan.
Is there vegan white chocolate?
Yes! Plenty of brands produce vegan white chocolate. Some of our favorites are Moo Free Vegan white mini bars, Vego White Almond Bliss, and iChoc White Vanilla.
Is Lindt white chocolate vegan?
No. Lindt white chocolate contains milk powder.