Best 7 Chili’s Vegan Options – You Might Be Surprised (2023)

Fact-checked badge

Does Chilis have vegan options at all?

In brief Chili’s Vegan Options Might Not Be the Greatest, But There Are Enough.

Eventually, Chili’s has some pretty decent plant-based options. Surprise, but a welcome one, just like Cheesecake. However, their vegan items are limited to sides, appetizers, and salads. With the few vegan-friendly items they have, you can still make a decent vegan meal.

There are better options out there for vegans to indulge in, such as Freebirds which gives huge portions and has great vegan options, or Qdoba which is a little more upscale version of Freebirds, or even Baja FreshDoes Chili’s have vegan options at all?

It is not like the well-known restaurant chain does not have any good vegan menu items, but they are not better than many other restaurant chains. Chili’s is typically more expensive and maybe even slightly disadvantaged as many other places have vegan meat replacements while Chili’s currently does not.

There are a few vegan-friendly options at Chili’s, so if this is where you are going for your next meal, keep on reading.

Cruelty-free Appetizers

American casual dining restaurant chain occasionally offers promotions that make the guacamole with chips and french fries bottomless and unlimited, but that is not always the case.

Make sure to get another salad dressing in place of the ranch dressing for the Fried Pickles, as it should not only be free but having a dressing works as a great palate cleanser even if you don’t use it to dip your pickles in!

Even though vegetable oil is used, the appetizers are fried together – unlike KFC, which is a surprise – with all other non-vegan items. But still more suitable than McDonald’s fries.

Vegan Main Course (non-salad) Options at Chili’s

  • Mexican Rice & Beans with Tortillas & Guacamole (Sides)

The vegan menu is pretty limited at Chili’s. Unfortunately, this is one of those places where you have to put a bunch of sides together to make a meal. This creation is one of the only meals you can assemble that resembles something close to normal.  Nonetheless, with the help of corn and wheat tortillas, black beans, and various side dishes (listed below), you can throw together a pretty good vegan wrap.

According to Chili’s most recent allergen menu, the fajitas appear to contain dairy. This includes the vegetable Black Bean & Veggie Fajitas. Some locations seem to use butter instead of oil for the fajitas and sometimes include a non-vegan sauce that has egg in it. There are mixed reviews of whether or not these items can be made vegan or not with some substitutions. You can always ask. It is best to avoid them as it has proved challenging to get a clear and consistent answer from restaurant chain.

Vegan Side Options at Chili’s

chilis vegan options
  • Side Mexican Rice & Beans
  • Flour Tortillas
  • Corn Tortilla
  • Corn On The Cob (Request no butter)
  • Pineapple Chunks/Slices
  • Mandarin Oranges
  • French Fries
  • Steamed Broccoli
  • Bottomless Tostada Chips & Salsa
  • Chips & Guacamole
  • Side House Salad
  • Garlic Dill Pickles
  • Black Beans
  • Roasted Asparagus
  • Mexican Rice
  • Avocado Slices
  • Fresh Guacamole

Those are all of the vegan sides and meaningful additions you could use to make a meal at Chili’s Grill & Bar. While it could be better, rice, beans, tortillas, corn, fries, and chips & salsa or guacamole are more than enough to build a satisfying vegan meal.

How about the vegan salads?

In a word, there is nothing much. The American restaurant chain doesn’t offer any salads without animal ingridients. However, with a little modification, you can make some on your own.

Caribbean Salad

The salad comes with fresh pineapple, mandarin oranges, dried cranberries, red bell peppers, green onions, cilantro, with honey-lime dressing. First, you have exclude the meat next subtitute the dressing, than your plant-based salad is ready!

House Salad

This time, you have to do a little bit more! You must exclude the croutons, cheese and swap dressing. In this case, It will be served with tomatoes, red onions,and  cucumbers with your choice of dressing.

Santa Fe Salad

The grilled chicken has to go for the first place than the house ranch dressing. As a result, nothing left but pico, tortilla strips, avocado, cilantro, and your chosen dressing.

The vegan dressing options at Chilis will be mentioned below.

Dressings & Sauces

  • BBQ Sauce
  • House-made BBQ Sauce
  • Citrus Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • Pico De Gallo

Those are all of the vegan dressings and sauces they have other than basic sauces like ketchup or the guacamole and salsa mentioned above.

What about the Soups & Veggie Burger?

Nothing in short. None of the other menu items seem to be vegan at this time, including the veggie burger and all of the Texas-based restaurant’s soups, which are not even vegetarian.

While Chili’s veggie burger is vegetarian, it is not vegan. It is a black-bean patty that contains egg and dairy, so vegans should stick to the rice, beans, and other sides mentioned above. Hopefully, they switch to a vegan black bean patty soon or get on the beyond meat bandwagon.

Keep in mind that there is always a chance of cross-contamination when you dine at restaurants like Chili’s. If you are not worried about that, feel free to enjoy any of the options mentioned here.

Fact-checked for vegan

Are there any vegan-friendly desserts?

Momentarily there is nothing without dairy or egg. The only sweetness that could be vegan are the fruits, even Mcdonald’s and Burger King have apple pie without animal ingredients.


Unfortunately, The Mexican-styled restaurant doesn’t look good but overall you don’t have to starve to death there. While there is no main dish, the sides aren’t that bad. Mexican rice, black beans, flour, and corn tortilla are considered decent options. As for the quick bites, the bottomless chips with salsa will always be a good choice, since It is completely vegan.

Frequently Asked Questions

Yes, Chili’s chips are considered vegan, because they do not contain any animal by-products.

Unfortunately, Chili’s does not have the Impossible Burger on their menu at this time. Maybe, one day there will be.

No, the Bean Burger isn’t free from animal ingredients. It is only considered vegetarian friendly since the black bean veggie patty contains both egg and dairy.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.