What is vegan at Pizza Hut?

There are a little selection of vegan-friendly options in Pizza Hut. There was a time when you could order a pizza with Beyond meat on it, but it is no longer available. You need to build your own pizza with plant-based ingredients and toppings or just try the Veggie Lover’s Pizza.

What are the vegan options on pizza hut’s menu?

In 2021 they added more vegan options, all listed below, including vegan-friendly pepperoni at some locations. Currently they’re not all available nationwide yet, so we specify the ones that are limited to a small number of locations below.

Veggie Lover’s Pizza

The Veggie Lover’s pizza has Sliced mushrooms, green pepper, red onion, tomato and pizza mozzarella as ingredients. You need to order it without mozzarella and with one of the crust flavors below. Besides that all the toppings are vegan-friendly.

  • Classic Hand-Tossed Style Crust
  • Thin n’ Crispy Crust
  • Pan-Style Crust
  • P’zone Crust (like a pizza pocket or calzone)

Build your own pizza

Firstly, pick the dough mentioned above. Then you can choose the toppings and sauces. The available sauces are below.

  • Classic Marinara (Pizza) Sauce
  • Buffalo Pizza Sauce
  • Spicy BBQ Dipping Sauce
  • Mild Buffalo Dipping Sauce
  • Medium Buffalo Dipping Sauce
  • Burnin’ Hot Buffalo Dipping Sauce
  • Lemon Pepper Dipping Sauce
  • Spicy Asian Dipping Sauce
  • Mariana Dipping Sauce

Keep in mind only the first two mentioned above — the Classic Mariana (Pizza) Sauce and Buffalo Pizza Sauce are available as Pizza Sauces, the rest are strictly available as dipping sauces and cannot be had as a ‘base’ sauce on your pizza — just for dipping! Next, choose the toppings.

  • Banana peppers
  • Green bell peppers
  • Green Chile peppers
  • Green olives
  • Jalapeno peppers
  • Diced Roma tomatoes
  • Black Olives
  • Mushrooms
  • Red onions
  • Roasted spinach
  • Pineapple Chunks
  • Beyond Meat Crumbles
  • Beyond Meat Sausage (not all locations)
  • Beyond Meat Pepperoni (not all locations)

Make sure to of course remove the cheese from your pizza from pizza hut, as no matter what pizza you start with (or build-your-own), even the beyond meat pizza they now offer, comes by default with non-vegan cheese. Remove it to make your veggie pizza vegan.

Sides and desserts

Honestly rather than getting a side we’d say to just get a bigger pizza, as their sides (with the exception of dips) don’t really add that much to the meal, but hey that’s just our opinion — if you want some fries with your pizza, or on top of your pizza, go for it.

  • Breadsticks (Specify Plain — no Parmesan cheese or seasoning, ask for pizza sauce dip instead)
  • Cinnamon Bites (Specify no icing/dipping-sauce)
  • French Fries (‘Wingstreet’)
  • All the above-mentioned Dipping Sauces

Does Pizza Hut have vegan cheese?

Currently Pizza Hut doesn’t offer Vegan Cheese in the USA or most of the world — with the exception of the UK, where most locations have the option to have vegan cheese on your pizza rather than non-vegan cheese.

Are Pizza Hut’s Breadsticks Vegan-Friendly?

Yes, with some modifications that we covered above in the ‘side’ portion of this article — essentially order it without the cheese and seasoning and you should have some fluffy vegan breadsticks in no time — make sure to get some pizza sauce to go with them.

What’s the Risk of Cross-Contamination at Pizza Hut?

While always present in a not purely vegan environment it’s very very low in our experience, or in fact essentially zero — we’ve never had a pizza come out with unwanted ingredients accidentally mixed in. If you so wish you can ask them to change gloves or pizza rollers (cutter) to aide in avoiding cross-contamination, while we personally don’t do this apparently it’s not uncommon for people to ask for this and it’s not an issue at all — so feel free to ask if you want it to be done.

What fast-food restaurants offer vegan options?

There are many other vegan fast-food options for eating vegan pizza and any kind of meal in other pizzerias. Rather than having only pizza, you can order soups, bowls and pastas as a vegan.

What are the vegan options in California Pizza?

In California Pizza, you have a chance as a vegan to order a plant-based BBQ pizza, however you need to skip cheese this time as well. This pizza comes with BBQ sauce, red onions, and fresh cilantro. 

What are the vegan options in Blaze Pizza?

In Blaze Pizza, there is a vegan-friendly pizza option that comes with classic dough, red sauce, vegan cheese, vegan spicy chorizo, red onions, green bell peppers, mushrooms, olive oil drizzle, and basil.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.