Tim Hortons Vegan Options in Canada, US and more (2022)

Table of Contents

Tim Hortons Vegan Options Logo

Tim Hortons vegan options continue to grow in 2022

While the Canadian restaurant chain is not perfect, they are probably the most vegan-friendly fast-food breakfast spot in Canada. With over 4,000 locations across Canada, plant-based eaters have no trouble finding a tasty vegan breakfast here. Let’s see what is Vegan at Tim Hortons!

The multinational fast-food restaurant chain has some pretty great vegan options beyond hearty vegetable side dishes. These include the Impossible Breakfast Sandwiches, bagels, hash browns, and many other vegan-friendly goodies that we’ll cover below the whole menu options.

Nonetheless, They couldn’t exclude cross-contamination, so they may share the fryers or grill with animal products.

Vegan Main Dishes at Tim Hortons

tim hortons vegan
  • The Harvest Breakfast Sandwich
  • Harvest Breakfast Wrap
  • All Impossible Meat Entrees if ordered without cheese or eggs
  • Mixed Berry Oatmeal
  • Regular Oatmeal
  • Garden Veggie Sandwich (specify no cream cheese)
  • Harvest Vegetable Soup (not all locations)
  • Garden Salad (should be vegan as-is with dressing)

Two years ago, Tim’s pulled back the Beyond Meat products from all locations. In march 2022, they upgraded their menu with two tasty novelties which are made from the delicious plant based Impossible Sausage. Harvest Breakfast Sandwich and Harvest Farmer’s Wrap are finally available at all Tim Hortons restaurants across the US and Canada.

It is a little bit tricky for someone who doesn’t eat any animal products, since it is served with freshly cracked Canadian egg and melted cheese. However, you can easily make it vegan-friendly! You don’t have to do anything else, but exclude the cheese and eggs when you order. If you want it, you can alter the English muffin with Homestyle Biscuit, Plain, or everything bagel.

Besides North America

While things are going well with Tim Horton’s vegan options in Canada and USA, You can enjoy even more vegan food at Tim’s If you travel to the UK. The Vegan Wrap with plant-based meatless chicken patty served with vegan mayo is waiting for you! Also, the brand new Nacho Chilli Cheese Meatless Chicken is available in the United Kingdom. Make sure that you order it without cheddar cheese!

Vegan sides at Tim Hortons

  • Hash Browns
  • Potato Wedges
  • Kettle Chips
  • English Muffin
  • Homestyle Biscuit
  • Peanut Butter
  • Jams and Jellies
  • Gravy

Remember you can always slap a hash-brown or some wedges on a biscuit or jam onto a muffin and eat that as a quick snack or small breakfast — or to bulk up a lighter “main” lunch option like oatmeal to make it a hefty meal. But you can also do that by adding a bagel, or simply opting for a bagel or piece of their bread that we’ll cover in the next section.

Bread & Bagel

  • Cinnamon Raisin Bagel
  • Plain Bagel
  • Everything Bagel
  • Sesame-Seed Bagel
  • Blueberry Bagel
  • English Muffin
  • Homestyle Biscuit
  • Whole Wheat Bread
  • White Bread
  • Tortilla

Timi doesn’t have a plant-based cream cheese like some US-based counterparts, such as Einstein Bagels, but they aren’t a bagel shop, so that makes sense. They are a general breakfast-oriented cafe. Tim Hortons may add a vegan-friendly cream cheese eventually.  Meanwhile, there are only a few items available for the bagels that don’t contain dairy.

Cruelty-Free spreads

  • Strawberry Jam, 
  • Raspberry Jam, 
  • Peanut Butter

Vegan Drinks at Tim Hortons

Up until now, Timmies really only carried standard options like regular black coffee, espressos, and cappuccinos. However, at the end of 2021, the Canadian fast food restaurant added two new vegan options using Chobani Oat Milk. Furthermore, these include Cinnamon Caramel Oat Latte and Cinnamon Caramel Oat Cold Brew. With these added, Tim Hortons vegan drinks include:

Cold Drinks

  • Frozen lemonade and other slushy-fruit drinks (raspberry cooler, etc.)
  • Apple Cider (can be ordered hot too)
  • Cinnamon Caramel Oat Cold Brew
  • New! Redeye Iced Coffee

While Tim Hortons smoothies aren’t vegan-friendly personally I love the lemonade/berry slushy type things, which make for a good, albeit less healthy than real fruit, replacement for a sweet fruity drink.

Very Important! –> the foam in their Roasted Hazelnut Cold Brew with Espresso Cold Foam contains dairy, so it is not vegan. – Thanks for getting the info from Tim Hortons, Jordan! 🙂

Hot drinks

  • All Coffees (without milk/creamer or substitute dairy-free milk)
  • Cinnamon Caramel Oat Latte
  • All teas (without milk/creamer)

If you aren’t sure what coffee types the Canadian restaurant chain has, it’s really just the standard stuff like regular black coffee (Americano), Expresso’s, and Cappuccino. They have multiple types/styles though; it’s not McDonalds. They have real coffee.

Moreover, usually they have various dairy-free milk for example almond, coconaut and oat milk. Conversely, Tim Horton’s hot chocolate isn’t vegan and besides this, It is premade therefore they cannot make it vegan at all.

Finally, the desserts

  • None

Unfortunately, everything is non-vegan in the dessert section, While there’s the drinks above that you can make into candy-like sweet abominations, as I must admit I have done in the past, there aren’t any proper vegan desserts at Timmies in the USA or Canada. In some UK locations they apparently sometimes have a vegan brownie or something with a V sticker on it, but really that’s just a local thing in certain UK locations rather than a Tim Hortons product.

Tim Hortons plant-based offer altogether

In a word, It’s quite great. Fortunately, the North American coffee chain made some pretty big steps toward veganism. As a result, Tim Hortons offers satisfying vegan options in Canada and the USA. Notwithstanding there is still much to do.

They offer various meat alternatives and they have plenty of decent accidentally vegan sides as well. Moreover, most of their bagels and bread are free from animal ingredients. They offer various dairy-free milk for their signature coffee. Their weakest point is the dessert, they don’t offer a single delicious muffin or Timbit for us.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Tim Hortons have Vegan-Friendly Donuts?

Unfortunately, the fast-food chain does not have any vegan-friendly donuts at this time. Maybe someday they will expand their menu, but until then, they have some sweet drinks to satisfy your sweet tooth or you can choose one of the sweeter bagels with jam.

Are Tim Hortons bagels vegan?

Most of the bagels are Vegan at Tim Hortons. You can freely order for example plain, everything, 12 grain and cinnamon raisin, Bagel without animal products. You can choose jam and peanut butter as toppings instead of the basic one, which contains milk.

Is Tim Hortons hot chocolate vegan?

First, It contains dairy, hence It isn’t. Secondly, It is premade, so They cannot exclude the animal ingredients.

Are Tim Hortons hash browns vegan?

They are! The crispy and golden hashed brown is always one of the best choices for a vegan breakfast or as a side dish at Timmies.

Are timbits vegan?

Unfortunately, all of them contain dairy products and many of them include eggs as well therefore they aren’t.

Other Articles to Check Out:

Get the latest posts in email!

Recent posts

Similar articles

Menchies Frozen Yogurt Vegan Options Logo

Everything Vegan at Menchies (2022)

Menchies is arguably the most vegan-friendly Frozen-Yogurt place out there, short of an all vegan place that is, as they have a vegan almond option