Are Love Hearts Candy Vegan? (2023)

Love Hearts as known in Europe, or Sweet Hearts for those in North America, are a sugary candy that’s quite popular, especially around valentines day.

Fortunately for us vegans, Love Hearts & Sweet Hearts are both always vegan.

They don’t contain any animal products whatsoever. Love hearts simply contain sugar, various natural coloring agents, and some basic flavor additives and stabilizers that are pretty much universally seen as harmless to consume.

Here you can check the ingredients list:

Sugar, Acidity Regulators: Malic Acid, Tartaric Acid Stearic Acid, Sodium Bicarbonate, Modified Starch, Magnesium Stearate, Anti-Caking Agent: Magnesium Carbonate Flavourings, Colours: Anthocyanin, Beetroot Red, Copper Chlorophyllin, Curcumin, Lutein, Paprika

What Other Valentines Day Candies are Vegan?

There’s many of other Valentines Day candies that are vegan, Sour Patch Kids have a good valentines-candy, the jolly rancher suckers are generally vegan, as are valentines day skittles. They’re all common vegan valentines day candies.

Unfortunately many of the common valentines day candies, valentines day nerds, most chocolates, peeps marshmallow candies, and gummy bears are non-vegan for various reasons. We have an article on Nerds Vegan-status and Peeps marshmallows vegan status as well.

Are Love Hearts Gluten Free?

Yes, Love hearts and Sweet Hearts are 100% Gluten Free. They’re just sugary candies, they don’t have any wheat nor are they produced in a facility that processes wheat.

Are Love Hearts Halal?

Yeah, they’re Halal as well. Most vegan foods are Halal, with the only exception being those that contain alcohol, and neither Love Hearts or Sweet Hearts contain any alcohol. You can read more about the Halal-status of Vegan foods here.

Cruelty Free Reviews

Cruelty Free Reviews

CrueltyFreeReviews serves as a digital guide and a handy manual for new vegans and experienced plant-based veterans alike. Founded back in 2018 by a group of plant-based enthusiasts, we are dedicated to a vegan lifestyle and animal rights. With our team having more than 10 years of plant-based guidance experience by now, we want to give back to the vegan community and support anyone on this journey.